top of page

Interview with Kate Stirling

Tell us about your latest novel or project:

I am about to move into a field that is totally different from my usual historical NZ novels. More along the spiritual paths but definitely not religious.

What got you started writing?

I won a (then) national story competition at school when I was about 10 years old. Always did well with writing/spelling etc. but judged my success by the number of pages, since I enjoyed the content and didn’t see the success for what it was. First was the only place to aim for and I usually got it, second place not good enough so more effort next time. My handwriting cost me every time. A familial tremor plagued me then as it still does.

What challenges did you face when you first started writing?

I didn’t know enough about my topics, no travel, no experience to weave in as I do now. To me, stories were akin to telling lies. Had plenty of art books, colours, but few story books. Discovered libraries when I was 10, scared of them. My family were not readers. Better doing some tasks like growing foods, knitting, sewing, housework; not just sitting round reading.

Do you ever get the opportunity to travel for your writing? Either to market or to research.

As a child my only experience was daily life in a very simple, private, loving family. Today I enjoy short distance travel to sell or place my books. Ten of them these days.

Who in your life is your greatest cheerleader or support in your writing?

My recently deceased husband. He drove me from town to town, carried heavy stuff for me, believed in my work more than I did, arranged the initial contact to publish and paid for it. Lucky me, miss him now!

What is it like writing in New Zealand that would be different if you lived anywhere else?

How would I know? It was a different era; kids didn’t matter as long as they were biddable and quiet! There was plenty of encouragement in the many schools I attended.

Where do you get your ideas? Is there anything about New Zealand that has inspired you to write?

Mostly family tales and gossips, scandals, a few Maori legends etc. Curiosity, why they believed what they did. So much verbal stuff to steal these days.

Why do you think readers are fascinated by books written about New Zealand?

NZ hasn’t really grown up yet, so old themes are still relevant, just modernised. Humans haven’t changed much basically. Still need the same. Food, water, love, shelter, someone to care and think about.

Who is your favourite New Zealand author and why?

Dame Fiona Kidman. She smiles a lot, discussed our work during workshops, good advice. Still recognises me.

What advice would you give for other writers in New Zealand?

Do it, don’t just talk about it. You don’t know what you have in there!

Do you get to network or meet up with other New Zealand authors?

Seldom.

What was the first thing you did after your first book was published?

Wrote another because I sold the first 500 copies in such quick time, local library took an interest, suggested a distributor who still takes my work.

Do you read your book reviews? How do you handle the good and the bad ones?

Never saw a book review. Unwell for the first novel, missed it and never saw another one.

It seems like everything has Easter Eggs (surprise reference to your other work) do you have any Easter Eggs in your books?

Probably, though not that I know of, but I do use ‘too many commas.’

How long does it take you to write a book? Do you have any secrets to productivity?

About a year for successive books. Get very involved in characters, family knows their names etc, laugh when they irk me.

Where did you get the idea for your first or latest book?

First, money. Latest. A spiritual experience. The beginning of my life as a healer, years ago.

Do you have any writing rituals?

Best writing at night, no interruptions. Poor sleeper. Large family and indifferent health these days. Housework mornings, snooze after lunch, then write for several hours till time to make meals etc.

What is your best experience meeting a fan?

Seldom meet any, too busy at the computer. Writing, not playing games.

If any of your books was to be made into a film, which one would you pick and who would you have play the main characters?

Probably Yates Landing, my first child. A female Tom Hanks, I guess. Not thick, but learns well and adapts quickly.

How important do you think marketing is for authors today?

Essential. Need to learn how to do it.

Do you have any book you have written that won’t ever see the light of day and why?

Yes, one. Similar to the others but done at a bad time in my life and too many difficult memories in it. Needs rewriting

Many authors have a word or a phrase they automatically use too often. Do you have one? Probably ‘but’! Too many words!

What quirk or trope of your genre do you like or dislike?

Social language, rules of the period. Still difficult for me.

Often writers get to approach some serious subjects. Which serious subject are you most proud to have written about or was the hardest to write about?

Writing highly emotional out- bursts, especially angry, always difficult. Not enough experience of some moods. A fortunate childhood, I guess. Very happy years.

Thank you for sharing some of your journey with us.

Sign up to the newsletter and find out when your favourite Kiwi author has a book out.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page