top of page

Interview with Blair Polly

I'm more familiar with Blair Polly's choose your own adventure series. Not for myself but I have several nieces and nephews and the You Say Which Way reminded me so much of my own reading at that age. But Blair also writes Crime Fiction.

So Blair tell us about your most recent book.

My most recent book was Dinosaur Canyon, a ‘You Say Which Way’ adventure for middle grade readers, published by the Fairytale Factory in Wellington. At the end of each chapter in this interactive adventure, you, the reader, and main character of the story, have to decide which way the plot unfolds. The story has multiple tracks and endings, and can be re-read many times. But watch out for T-rex … he’s hungry.

I think my nephew would love that. But then I don't know of a small boy that didn't love dinosaurs at one stage or another.

What got you started writing?

After selling my share of a business, I took off to the South Island with the idea of being a gypsy for a few months. After a couple of weeks, and needing respite from the sunshine, walking, fishing, swimming, and other holiday activities, I decided to fulfill a childhood ambition and started writing. Gradually, the writing took over. Ten years and 13 books later, here I am.

What challenges did you face when you first started writing?

For me the challenges were not having any formal writing education apart from one creative writing class in high school. Unlike many writers who don’t have time to write, the opposite was true for me. I had all the time in the world, but needed to develop the writing skills. The learning curve is still pretty steep.

Do you ever get the opportunity to travel for your writing? Either to market or to research?

No big sales or marketing trips yet, but I do get to travel back in time, and off planet occasionally, while writing. That will have to do for now.

I suppose that is the benefit of all writers to be able to transport ourselves. I haven't quite got myself back to a time of dinosaurs though.

Do you get to network or meet up with other New Zealand authors?

I have a few authors that I’m in contact with — mainly authors published by the Fairytale Factory. Because we’re all writing ‘You Say Which Way’ interactive fiction, we often help each other with plotting, editing, and proofreading.

Who in your life is your greatest cheerleader or support in your writing?

My publisher, Deb Potter, from the Fairytale Factory.

Not surprising as you have also collaborated on a few books. Awesome to have someone like that to work with.

What is it like writing in New Zealand that would be different if you lived anywhere else?

I think NZ’s writing community is incredibly supportive. It may be like that overseas too, but I suspect our smallness and 2 degrees of separation helps in that regard.

Yeah, the 2 degree of separation surprises me some days as well.

Where do you get your ideas? Is there anything about New Zealand that has inspired you to write?

My third novel, Above High Tide, was inspired by the rugged landscape of New Zealand’s South Island. Miles of unspoiled beach, snow-capped mountains and virgin rain-forest, is a great setting for a mystery/thriller.

I'm amazed you can writer in two such diverse genres but I can see how each would help you to write the other genre.

Why do you think readers are fascinated by books written about New Zealand?

I think many readers are like me, they love books set in places they’ve never been or in situations where they learn something new.

Who is your favourite New Zealand author and why?

There are too many good New Zealand authors for me to pick favourites.

The good thing is that there really is so many to pick from and that is the best part.

What advice would you give for other writers in New Zealand?

If you love writing, keep at it. If you love money, become a dentist.

I can hear my mother saying something like that to me when I was a kid. But this is good advice for any career.

What was the first thing you did after your first book was published?

My first novel was a self-published eBook, so I didn’t really have a proper launch or celebration. It wasn’t until I got my first royalty cheque that I bought a nice bottle of Pinot Noir in celebration.

Yeah, for me it was the first cheque as well though that was more waving it around and doing a little dance. I'm sure the Pinot Noir is most people's first choice to celebrate.

Do you read your book reviews? How do you handle the good and the bad ones?

I do read some of them, and I admit a good review is always nice. Not so good reviews are a chance to see where I can improve. The only bad review that got me mad was one from an American reader that complained about my spelling (it was written in NZ English). When I cooled down, I realised they’d done me a favour. Since then I’ve written in American English because the U.S. is the biggest market.

I made a similar choice but I find it also a little sad that we have to do the changing.

It seems like everything has Easter Eggs (surprise reference to your other work) do you have any Easter Eggs in your books?

Most of the middle grade eBooks I’ve written have hidden surprises, but only the cleverest children will find them.

Knowing myself I'll probably miss them. Don't know if that makes me lazy or just not clever.

How long does it take you to write a book? Do you have any secrets to productivity?

My first manuscript took over two years to finish. Thankfully, the others have gone quicker. I write in the morning, walk, then edit in the afternoon. If I don’t feel like writing, I don’t. But then sometimes it’s two in the morning and the fingers are flying over the keyboard.

Where did you get the idea for your first or latest book?

My most recent book was inspired by the natural world and weird science. When the two mix, strange things can happen.

Do you have any writing rituals?

Coffee. Lots, and lots of coffee.

What is your best experience meeting a fan?

Not long after my debut novel Bad Chillies came out, I got a phone call. All the voice on the other end of the line said was, “You bastard! I never expected it to end like that!”

I love that. First of all that New Zealand is so small that they'd know how to get hold of you but that also sounds like something I would love to some authors when I read mystery.

If any of your books was to be made into a film, which one would you pick and who would you have play the main characters?

I think my third novel, Above High Tide, would make a good film. George Clooney would be great in the lead role. If only.

Ooh good choice. Can't go wrong with Clooney.

How important do you think marketing is for authors today?

Unfortunately, marketing is everything these days. Money spent well, is money well spent. It’s a pity there is a huge industry out there trying to relieve authors of their hard earned dollars on unproven mailing lists, websites and other schemes.

Yip, that is why this is free. Unproven as it is.

Do you have any book you have written that won’t ever see the light of day and why?

I have a collection of short stories than I’ve tossed back into the filing cabinet. Still, the failed attempt has given me a new respect for short story writers. Short, does not mean easy.

Many authors have a word or a phrase they automatically use too often. Do you have one?

I was told my second novel, Art Sharks and a Coffin Name Denzel, contained too much swearing. A problem I’ve managed to avoid now that I’m mainly writing children’s fiction.

I hear that is something people complain about. You should use it as a selling point for your next mystery - read now, it has swearing.

What quirk or trope of your genre do you like or dislike?

Writing in second person, so YOU can be the main character is more difficult than many realise. Still, writing ‘You Say Which Way’ fiction for kids has been a lot of fun.

Yeah, I can't even manage first person let alone something as tricky as second person.

Often writers get to approach some serious subjects. Which serious subject are you most proud to have written about or was the hardest to write about?

My second novel, Art Sharks and a Coffin Name Denzel, dealt with the acceptance of people’s differences, love, and the bonds of friendship. After all, without those three things, what sort of life have we got?

[if !supportLineBreakNewLine]Thank you so much for sharing some of your story with us. [endif]

Sign up to the newsletter and find out when your favourite Kiwi author has a book out.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page