top of page

Interview with Andrene Low

I've had the pleasure of participating with Andrene at a Facebook earlier in the year. She has since been very busy publishing a new series.

Tell us about your latest novel or project:

I’m currently working on a cozy paranormal mystery series. Frankie B is a jinxed witch with Bruce Lee moves while Dex, her familiar, is more interested in blueberry muffins than hunting down the bad guys. The first in the series, “Frankie B – The Ghost Ship” launched 31 July with the second “FB – Captain’s Gold” due for release 31 August 2018. After that I’ve got a whole stack more adventures planned for Frankie and Dex including shorter Christmas and Valentine’s Day reads.

What got you started writing?

It started back in primary school when I got an A on an English essay about the kids who were killed in the Welsh school when a slag heap collapsed on it. It was a pretty horrific subject to set for primary school children, but one heck of a challenge all the same. After that I dabbled in poetry, but my career really took off when I started writing my own material for stand-up comedy.

What challenges did you face when you first started writing?

Not knowing what I was actually doing. I had the stories, I had the characters, but as to plot, etc, that was sadly lacking. Craft is as important as graft when it comes to being an author.

Do you ever get the opportunity to travel for your writing? Either to market or to research.

Not yet. One day though…

Who in your life is your greatest cheerleader or support in your writing?

I’ve got a group of friends who I met through a six month writing course I took. We’ve stayed in touch and cheer each other on. I’ve also met a wonderful group of writers in the Hawkes Bay (where I moved from Auckland) through the Romance Writers of New Zealand. I actually rate it the best organisation for any New Zealand author to belong to, even if they don’t write romance.

What is it like writing in New Zealand that would be different if you lived anywhere else?

When I write, I’m fully inside my head and so I can be anywhere. My characters and plotlines are formed by my imagination rather than my surroundings. That’s not to say I don’t enjoy writing in a sunny location with good food and company on offer.

Where do you get your ideas? Is there anything about New Zealand that has inspired you to write? While my “That Seventies Series” starts in New Zealand, none of my other books are set here. My cozy mysteries are actually set in Seattle and other locations in that part of world. However, my very Kiwi sense of humour is present in all my books and is something readers seem to enjoy with a lot of ‘laugh-out-loud’ comments in the reviews I’ve been lucky enough to garner.

Why do you think readers are fascinated by books written about New Zealand?

I guess to outsiders, New Zealand is a mysterious place, being so far away from everywhere else. Throw in the Lord of the Rings phenomenon and it’s a potent mix that’s guaranteed to fascinate.

Who is your favourite New Zealand author and why?

Sorry, but I can’t settle on one. For historical I’d have to go with Vicky Adin, thriller is all down to Cat Conner, while horror and time-slip is Kirsten McKenzie.

What advice would you give for other writers in New Zealand?

Don’t be restricted by thinking you have to be published in New Zealand to be seen to have ‘made it’. There’s a big old publishing world beyond our shores whether you choose to publish traditionally or go indie. This is especially true if you write genre rather than literary fiction.

Do you get to network or meet up with other New Zealand authors?

Apart from the Romance Writers of New Zealand meetings and annual conference, I also exhibit at the NZ Book Festival every year. This is a fantastic way to not only meet up with other New Zealand authors, but also to get my books in front of the buying public.

What was the first thing you did after your first book was published?

When it was first accepted I cried. When it went on sale, I was dumbstruck that I’d finally done it. This feeling never goes away and I feel a great sense of pride every time I add a new cover to my website and social media pages.

Do you read your book reviews? How do you handle the good and the bad ones?

It’s hard not to. But I’m also conscious that it’s just one person’s opinion, and might not always be that informed. There are also a lot of readers who don’t review books at all. The great thing about having a series, is that you can see when people like your work when they buy the second and third in a series. That’s the biggest compliment of all as it also pays for chocolate and wine.

It seems like everything has Easter Eggs (surprise reference to your other work) do you have any Easter Eggs in your books?

I haven’t to date with my two series being set in difference eras and different locations. Certainly though I like it when other authors do it so it could well happen in the future.

How long does it take you to write a book? Do you have any secrets to productivity?

My first novel took blinking ages, mostly because I was learning as I went along. The second took a year from start to published, while the third was around nine months. However, these were traditionally published and so the process is a lot slower when you go that route. With the cozy series, these are shorter in length and I’m indie publishing (with professional editing, cover design, etc.), meaning, they will hit the electronic shelves approximately every two months.

Where did you get the idea for your first or latest book?

Like all newbie authors, I wrote what I knew and based book #1 on my travels. It didn’t take long to work out that what had been exciting at the time made for one boring read. After that I threw any hints of reality out the window and turned it into a purely fictional piece of work resulting in a far more entertaining read.

Do you have any writing rituals?

I don’t have anything specific, although I sometimes mix up my writing locations and methods to keep things fresh. This can even involve writing long-hand using a fountain pen. It’s amazing how this can free up the thoughts compared to typing. I also use Dragon dictating software. Even though it has trouble with my Kiwi accent, it makes it easy to get a lot of thoughts down very quickly and so is perfect for plotting.

What is your best experience meeting a fan?

This fan I haven’t actually met to date, although we’re now in touch on social media. It was a case of the 2 degrees of separation that New Zealand is known for that when I started a new job in Napier, one of the clients of that company who was based in Auckland knew my name because she’d read my books. My very own ‘World famous in New Zealand’ moment. She’s now reviewed every one of my books and has even started reading and reviewing the new cozy series. I can’t tell you how chuffed this makes me.

If any of your books was to be made into a film, which one would you pick and who would you have play the main characters?

It would definitely be Strapped for Cash as the story is outrageous, funny and even poignant in places. I’m thinking Emily Blunt would be perfect to play the part of Brenda with Jude Law as Julian. Maggie Smith would be brilliant as the irrepressible Eadie, or even Flo for that matter.

How important do you think marketing is for authors today?

It’s everything. Even if you’re traditionally published, you can’t avoid marketing these days. This is especially true if you’re published by a smaller publishing house where they simply don’t have the resources to do more than the basics. It’s for this very reason I decided to go indie. With the number of quality freelance editors now out there (due to a lot of traditional publishing houses folding), the level of indie work can be every bit as good as the old school variety.

Do you have any book you have written that won’t ever see the light of day and why?

I’ve finished the first draft of DietVale, a comic horror that follows one woman’s journey from lard arse to kick arse, all while on a steady diet of B-List celebs. The cover is ready to go and I know the ending, so I’ve just got to put enough time aside to go through the editing phase. Will it ever see the light of day? I bloody hope so.

Many authors have a word or a phrase they automatically use too often. Do you have one?

I’m sure I’ve got many, but I use editing software that helps point these out. And the main thing that picks up is my tendency to sometimes write super long sentences, like really, really, long, that go on for ever, you get the picture.

What quirk or trope of your genre do you like or dislike?

I don’t know if it’s a trope as such, but I have an aversion to a female character being strong, and then when push comes to shove, a guy has to save the day for her. Don’t get me wrong, I love an alpha male as much as a lot of readers; what I don’t like is a strong female character suddenly turning into a wet blanket at the first sight of a good looking guy.

Often writers get to approach some serious subjects. Which serious subject are you most proud to have written about or was the hardest to write about?

There’s a scene in Friday Night Fever that’s very, very close to rape with the protagonist waking up with a guy after a drunken night. (It was the seventies, this wasn’t that unusual.) I don’t gloss it over because it’s a turning point for Samantha and she needs to feel as disgusted with herself as the readers do. When this same creep starts stalking her, the girls take care of things themselves, allowing Sam and the readers to laugh in relief.

Thank you and good luck with your new series. I love Cozy Mysteries.

Sign up to the newsletter and find out when your favourite Kiwi author has a book out.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page