top of page

Interview with Deryn Pittar

I've been excited about Deryn's new series.

Tell us about your latest novel or project:

I’ve had a busy few months launching my paranormal series: five futuristic romances republished by Junction Publishing as “The Future Movers Series”. Prior to this Junction Publishing had released in January my dragon story, “Lutapolii – White Dragon of the South”; and in February a cosy mystery set in Hamilton, called “Luck be a Lady – Charles Paterson Investigates”.

It’s been a hectic round of edits, cover choices and promotion and a huge learning curve using Canva and Buffer to make banners and schedule posts on social media. I nearly fell off on a few sharp corners, but managed to regain my balance and keep going.

I’m looking forward to taking a breather and starting afresh on a new story. Not sure just what that will be at the moment.

What got you started writing?

An urge to write long letters, then long emails and finally I morphed into writing short stories and finally novellas. I still have trouble writing long novels.

What challenges did you face when you first started writing?

Luckily I had a good grasp of grammar and punctuation but learning to write in an active manner – the ‘showing not telling’ thing – and getting rid of passive words and expressions took a while; three whole novels in fact, none of which ever got published. Putting life into my prose took a while to master. Not to mention eliminating head-hopping and sticking to one point of view for a whole chapter.

Who in your life is your greatest cheerleader or support in your writing?

My family. My husband doesn’t read my books but is extremely proud and supportive. My sons read my work and comment with enthusiasm (both good and bad opinions).

What is it like writing in New Zealand that would be different if you lived anywhere else?

Nothing I can think of, except our small audience for hard copies. Luckily with the internet and social media authors can now be in immediate contact worldwide with readers and reviewers. Hard copy publishing is a fraught situation with our country’s small population.

Where do you get your ideas? Is there anything about New Zealand that has inspired you to write? Ideas either come in a rush or stay away for months. I need to write down any basic outlines when they occur. Then I can find them again later when my brain switches into idle mode. I’ve used Taniwha as characters in a Young Adult I wrote called “A Taste of Gold”. It’s published by Evernight Teens as an e-book and also available to purchase as a hard copy.

Why do you think readers are fascinated by books written about New Zealand?

The Lord of the Rings films promoted our country better than anything else has ever achieved. We are viewed as a magical place, far away from the world’s troubles, and in this regard we are extremely lucky. I’m not sure New Zealand readers are that fond of New Zealand writers. If anything we seem to be regarded as oddities and possibly second-class writers, which is sad and at times quite defeating.

Who is your favourite New Zealand author and why?

I love Elizabeth Knox’s books and her imagination. I fell in love with Vintner’s Luck and Angel’s Cut. I also enjoy the late Laurel Edmond’s books and poetry.

What advice would you give for other writers in New Zealand?

Our immediate access by email to the world means you can submit your manuscript anywhere. I say ‘go for it’. Most publishers now accept electronic submissions. I often browse submission calls to see if I have anything suitable. All it takes is a bit of time and effort – and developing a philosophical outlook (i.e. a hard skin) to rejections.

Do you get to network or meet up with other New Zealand authors?

Yes, I belong to the Romance Writers of N.Z. and regularly attend the meetings of the Coast2Coast area. Great company, enthusiastic writers, unbelievable peer support – and a huge range of genre are covered by our members. Some even write the occasional romance.

What was the first thing you did after your first book was published?

Stood up and punched the air with a resounding ‘YES’!! Then sat down and continued writing the next book.

Do you read your book reviews? How do you handle the good and the bad ones?

I read my reviews with a detached attitude (or try to) and I accept the criticism that most readers want my stories to go on for longer. I try, and I intend to try harder, to extend their length but I’m against filling a manuscript with waffle just to get a bigger word count.

How long does it take you to write a book? Do you have any secrets to productivity?

The time taken to write a book varies from 3– 6 months. Once I get started I like to continue until it’s finished. I don’t have several stories on the go at the same time. Except, here I have to admit I am seven chapters (24,000 words) into one novel, the first book of what could be a series of three - and it’s shelved. I’ve lost interest. So there are no rules, just inclination.

I enjoy writing short stories and sometimes I will take one I’ve written and use it as a basis for a novel, especially if my imagination is in idle mode and ideas are sparse. All I need is a jumping off point and I’m away. I’m a bit of a pantster. I may jot down a couple of turning points, or scenes that appeal, but I often have no idea how I’m going to finish a story. I just rely on the knowledge that when the time comes an ending will occur to me. The biggest thing is not to stress about it, just write while the prose flows and stop and rest when it halts. That way plot solutions often sort themselves out while I’m asleep.

Where did you get the idea for your latest fantasy book?

My dragon story came from an exercise on a website (that has since closed). The beginning premise was given along with a word count for a short story. I had to think of a name and solve his problem. After that I couldn’t stop writing his story. He really took on a life of his own. I have a vague plot for a sequel but I would need prodding and strident demands to make a start.

Do you have any writing rituals?

No. As long as I can type into my laptop I can write anywhere.

If any of your books was to be made into a film, which one would you pick and who would you have play the main characters?

It would have to be Lutapolii – White Dragon of the South. I’d like Weta Workshop to play with it. I’m sure they’d do a great job.

I'd watch that. You can grab the whole series in this awesome box set.

How important do you think marketing is for authors today?

Very important, very hard - a constant battle on social media and word of mouth.

Do you have any book you have written that won’t ever see the light of day and why?

I have one that I rewrote four times and it will never get published. It is also the longest one I’ve ever written (75,000 words) and although it’s filed away I will never attempt to get it published. The plot was good, but an essential turning point is now outdated by electronic advances. However, not a word was wasted because I learned along the way to write with more vigour and immediacy than when I began.

Many authors have a word or a phrase they automatically use too often. Do you have one?

I often start dialogue with “Well, .....” then I have to go back later and remove all of them.

Often writers get to approach some serious subjects. Which serious subject are you most proud to have written about?

My futuristic romances are about three generations of a genetically altered family who must live quiet lives to avoid the attention of the Defence Department, which runs the breeding programme. Should their talents be discovered they can be conscripted to work for the government for the rest of their life.

This series is about being different, living among normal people, hiding your talents yet using them when possible to help other people. It’s about the fear of discovery and the dangers of falling in love with a normal person or tangling with authority. It’s a serious subject but written with a light touch.

Thank you so much for sharing some of your journey and good luck with your latest series.

Sign up to the newsletter and find out when your favourite Kiwi author has a book out.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page