top of page

Interview with Kura Carpenter

Kura is a fellow SpecFicNZ author so I'm super excited to welcome them today.

Tell us about your latest novel or project:

The Kingfisher’s Debt is a New Zealand Urban Fantasy set in contemporary Dunedin. I think of it as Wellington Paranormal meets Outrageous Fortune. A couple of people have said it’s like Dresden Files meets Outrageous Fortune. I haven’t read Dresden Files – shocking I know, so I can’t comment.

But it is a first person POV mystery, following Tamsin Fairchild, a woman with criminal and supernatural connections, as she’s drawn into a police investigation to find a missing baby, and gradually the leads start to uncover her own family secrets. Plus, did I say there’s magic!

What got you started writing?

Too much free time and an abundance of pencils.

What challenges did you face when you first started writing?

Let’s be honest. Spelling is still an issue for me.

I feel you, I'm dyslexic and every day I thank God for spell check.

Do you ever get the opportunity to travel for your writing? Either to market or to research.

I’m not a good traveller. I get motion sick in elevators. I set my novel in Dunedin partly to avoid travelling.

Very wise.

Who in your life is your greatest cheerleader or support in your writing?

Definitely my fellow writers, especially members of the Dunedin Writers’ Workshop, SpecficNZ and the RWNZ, they’ve been great.

What is it like writing in New Zealand that would be different if you lived anywhere else?

I’ve heard cafes in the States give you free coffee refills, so it would be cheaper.

Lol.

Who is your favourite New Zealand author and why?

Paul Cleave, his writing has great ‘Voice.’ “Cemetery Lake” is my fav.

What advice would you give for other writers in New Zealand?

Don’t give up. Join a Critique group.

Ditto, there is so much you can learn from a good group.

Do you get to network or meet up with other New Zealand authors?

I wish. Being a poor traveller and an introvert, I find it very difficult.

You do well enough online, where you are very active.

What was the first thing you did after your first book was published?

I believe a happy dance took place.

Do you read your book reviews? How do you handle the good and the bad ones?

Yes, absolutely I read them. My sister has promised to make me homemade blondies or fudge, for every bad one so ultimately every review is win-win.

It seems like everything has Easter Eggs (surprise reference to your other work) do you have any Easter Eggs in your books?

Yes.

How long does it take you to write a book? Do you have any secrets to productivity?

Writing takes as long as it takes, but forgoing all household chores aides productivity. Whether your greyhound has licked a plate clean, or you put it in the dishwasher, most guests can’t tell the difference and that saves time.

If your book was to be made into a film, who would you have play the main characters?

What’s the name of that Australian actor who plays Thor? He would definitely play Billy, Tamsin Fairchild’s elder brother. And I think Kimberley Crossman from the TV show Funny Girls, would make an excellent Tamsin.

How important do you think marketing is for authors today?

You’ll find that answer by visiting my Author Website: https://www.kuracarpenter.com/

Thank you so much for sharing some of your journey and good luck with your next project.

Sign up to the newsletter and find out when your favourite Kiwi author has a book out.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page