top of page

Interview with Patricia Snelling

Tell us about your latest novel or project: “Missing On Kawau” is a Mystery/Romantic Suspense novel set on an island in the Hauraki Gulf

What got you started writing?

I started journaling a lot of deep thoughts about different issues including spiritual values and decided to put them into fiction form as a novel. I have only been able to write books since I retired a year ago. Since then I have completed one novella and two full novels.

What challenges did you face when you first started writing? Formatting and proofreading!! Trying to avoid being sucked in by Vanity Publishers

Do you ever get the opportunity to travel for your writing? Either to market or to research. I do travel but not to market or research books, and I am new in the game. Who in your life is your greatest cheerleader or support in your writing ? The people who answer my posts on facebook forums and a close friend who also writes.

What is it like writing in New Zealand that would be different if you lived anywhere else? Our market is limited here as well as the resources for publishing.

Where do you get your ideas? Is there anything about New Zealand that has inspired you to write? I am inspired by our beautiful natural environment which never ceases to amaze me.

Why do you think readers are fascinated by books written about New Zealand? It is very different from other parts of the world, quite unique

Who is your favourite New Zealand author and why? To be honest, I haven’t read books by NZ authors for years. I prefer to read books from overseas authors as I find it interesting to read about the different cultures. I read mostly Christian Fiction.

What advice would you give for other writers in New Zealand? To join as many online and local writing groups as you can. There is a fountain of knowledge amongst them and I that’s how I have improved in leaps and bounds.

Do you get to network or meet up with other New Zealand authors? Yes, I belong to a writers group which meets locally and I try to get to book festivals when I can.

What was the first thing you did after your first book was published? I had a good night’s sleep!

Do you read your book reviews? How do you handle the good and the bad ones?

I haven’t had many as I have only been writing for a year. I have a a few excellent reviews and one mean one which I tackled by emailing the person and addressing the issues.

How long does it take you to write a book? Do you have any secrets to productivity?

I am unable to find the time to sit down all day and write. I find it difficult with family members in the room as I get distracted. My best writing time is when the house is quiet after everyone has gone to bed, in the small hours of the morning. It takes me about four or five months.

Where did you get the idea for your first or latest book? I decided to write a book set in NZ that would include suspense and a good illustration of our beautiful wildlife, forests and beaches.

Do you have any writing rituals? Sitting up after midnight in the still of the night eating dark chocolate instead of drinking coffee

What is your best experience meeting a fan?

Not yet, dream on ...

If any of your books was to be made into a film, which one would you pick and who would you have play the main characters? “ Missing On Kawau”. I don’t know about characters yet.

How important do you think marketing is for authors today?

Very important but I read so much about Indie Authors paying big money for advertising for little or no return. There has to be another way

Do you have any book you have written that won’t ever see the light of day and why? No

Many authors have a word or a phrase they automatically use too often. Do you have one?

Yes, but I’m not telling what it is (wink, wink)

What quirk or trope of your genre do you like or dislike?

I write Christian Fiction but even though I do use some Biblical quotes or verses, I think that Christian authors who get too preachy or legalistic in their fiction can spoil it for other writers who are not “over the top”. It should not put anyone off.

Often writers get to approach some serious subjects. Which serious subject are you most proud to have written about or was the hardest to write about? I like to expose all kinds of abuse whether it be domestic, sexual or cultural. I also try to expose myths and lies that are inherent in cultures, particularly involving women and children.

Thank you so much for sharing some of your story with us.

Sign up to the newsletter and find out when your favourite Kiwi author has a book out.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page