top of page

Interview with Jackie Ashenden

I must say I'm exhausted just looking at how many books you have written.

Tell us about your latest novel or project:

At the moment I’m writing two different books – one’s a secret project and the other is the last book in the Texas Bounty series.

What got you started writing?

I think I just grew up wanting to tell stories. I was certainly making them up in my head right from when I was a kid. I didn’t start writing them down until I was around 10 or 11 or so though, and basically I’ve never stopped.

What challenges did you face when you first started writing?

I don’t recall facing any when it came to writing, other than figuring out how to write a book and then to finish it. Certainly finishing a book was a major problem for me. In fact, even though I started out thinking I might write Science Fiction and Fantasy, the only books I ever actually finished were my romance books.

Do you ever get the opportunity to travel for your writing? Either to market or to research.

I usually go to the States every year for the Romance Writers of America conference, so I can catch up with my editors and my agent. But apart from that, I don’t travel specifically for my writing.

Who in your life is your greatest cheerleader or support in your writing?

I don’t have one person. My husband and kids are huge supporters of my writing, as is my mother. In terms of my writing friends, my crit partner Maisey Yates has been a huge source of encouragement and support. She and I have been friends for 10 years and I probably wouldn’t still be writing without her.

What is it like writing in New Zealand that would be different if you lived anywhere else?

The one issue I have with writing in NZ is that it’s quite a long way from my market, which is the States. Many of my readers are in the States too, so I guess if I wasn’t here, living in the States would be helpful when it came to connecting with readers. Be great to see my books on the shelves too since they aren’t here.

Where do you get your ideas? Is there anything about New Zealand that has inspired you to write?

I get my ideas from all over. News websites, TV shows, all kinds of things. NZ’s scenery and isolation has inspired me for my latest project – which I can’t go into yet, but it is set here.

Why do you think readers are fascinated by books written about New Zealand?

I have a few books set in NZ and readers have said they liked the difference in setting. I think it’s definitely that difference that people are drawn to since NZ is so far away and not many people know much about us. We’re mysterious.

Who is your favourite New Zealand author and why?

I don’t have a favourite since there are so many fantastic NZ authors! As far as romance is concerned, Sherilee Gray, Nicola Davidson and Serena Clarke are a few of my personal faves. They all write quite different books, but they’re all wonderful writers.

What advice would you give for other writers in New Zealand?

If people tell you that NZ authors don’t get published by Big Five US publishing houses, they’re wrong. I have been published by many of the Big Five and you don’t need to live in the States to do it. You might need an agent, and you might need to set your book in the US, but it’s possible.

Do you get to network or meet up with other New Zealand authors?

Yep. Every month I go to the Romance Writers of New Zealand Auckland chapter meeting to talk writing with a bunch of hugely supportive and lovely writers.

What was the first thing you did after your first book was published?

I cried! Lol!

Do you read your book reviews? How do you handle the good and the bad ones?

No. Never. I find the bad ones stick in my head and then I second guess my work. My crit partner sends me all the good ones though, so I see those at least.

It seems like everything has Easter Eggs (surprise reference to your other work) do you have any Easter Eggs in your books?

You know, I can’t remember. I think I might have in one of my Texas Bounty books. But I forget to put them in!

How long does it take you to write a book? Do you have any secrets to productivity?

It depends on my deadlines. I can write a 90k book in a month and a 50k book in two weeks, but I don’t like doing that and I try not to. I prefer to have a bit of time to think about the book while I’m writing it.

Secrets to productivity are a daily word count that I have to hit in order to meet my deadline. I can stop once I hit it or I can keep writing when I’m in the zone. It helps me not stress. I don’t plot my books, but I do like to know where I’m headed generally when I start writing in the morning, because then I don’t have to stop and think about it. I’ve always written pretty quickly – though not as quickly as some people!

Oh and another secret to productivity – writing is my escape from reality and sometimes there’s a lot of reality to escape from. ;-)

Where did you get the idea for your first or latest book?

My latest project….can’t tell you!

Do you have any writing rituals?

No. I just sit down at my desk, open my document, and I go.

What is your best experience meeting a fan?

When I was signing at the Romance Writers of America conference and a woman came up with a book and told me that her fiancée, who was in prison, was a huge fan and would I sign this book for him. I just love the idea that there’s this guy doing time who reads romance and is a big fan of my work.

If any of your books was to be made into a film, which one would you pick and who would you have

play the main characters?

I think Mine To Take would make an awesome movie. A secret club of misfit billionaires and the secrets they’re all keeping… I honestly can’t pick actors to play my characters though because no one is ever quite right.

How important do you think marketing is for authors today?

I think for any author, marketing is a must. It’s hard to get word out to readers, especially if you’re new. But I honestly think that the best marketing you can do is write your next book, because you can’t market what you don’t have. People might buy your first book because of your marketing, but they’ll buy your second because of your writing. And your third. And your fourth.

It’s up to you to have those books ready when they do.

Do you have any book you have written that won’t ever see the light of day and why?

Many, many books! And they won’t see the light of day because they’re not very good. I could rewrite them, but honestly it’s easier to write a new one than to edit an old one that wasn’t very good to start with.

Many authors have a word or a phrase they automatically use too often. Do you have one?

I really, really, REALLY like describing eye colour. I have to prune it out and then prune it out again!

What quirk or trope of your genre do you like or dislike?

There’s not much I don’t like about the romance genre.

Often writers get to approach some serious subjects. Which serious subject are you most proud to have written about or was the hardest to write about?

All my books deal with fairly serious subjects and they’re all challenging in various ways. Sex trafficking, mental illness, physical abuse, PTSD, etc. I like to write about these subjects because the great thing about romance is that it gives people a happy ending. And a lot of people don’t get that happy ending in real life.

That is why romance is my favourite genre because of that HEA for everyone. Thank you for sharing and good luck with your next project.

[if !supportLineBreakNewLine] [endif]

Sign up to the newsletter and find out when your favourite Kiwi author has a book out.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page