top of page

Interview with Keith Fenwick

Welcome Keith, tell us about your latest novel or project:

I have a book in the late stages of editing titled The Colonists. The Colonists is the fourth book

of a New Zealand themed Science Fiction series a strong element of satire running through

them. The series illustrates the risk of ignoring environmental degradation and the impact it can

have on society. One of my favourite comments about my latest book was that it was like

‘Barry Crump meets Space Opera.’

What got you started writing?

I’m not sure. Writing has been something I have always wanted to do.

What challenges did you face when you first started writing?

Negativity from other people, when I was younger.

Who in your life is your greatest cheerleader or support in your writing?

She who must be obeyed. I am an avid reader. My wife bought m a kindle ten years ago and

after reading a number of cheaper sci fi books I realised that the novels I had gathering dust so

I was determined to self-publish on Amazon.

What is it like writing in New Zealand that would be different if you lived anywhere else?

I don’t think we read enough locally produced fiction.

Where do you get your ideas? Is there anything about New Zealand that has inspired you to write?

I have a vivid imagination and I draw a lot of the social commentary that is used in my books from the environment I live and work in.

Who is your favourite New Zealand author and why?

That would have to be me.:-) Barry Crump would have to be my favourite. I read somewhere

once that he was one of the pioneers who made use realise it was ok to laugh at ourselves and

we had some good stories to tell that were unique to our culture – a blend of European and

Polynesian.

What advice would you give for other writers in New Zealand?

Have a go and don’t give up.

Do you get to network or meet up with other New Zealand authors?

No I don’t. This is one thing I know I should do, as well as turning up to writer’s festivals,

that I should do.

What was the first thing you did after your first book was published?

Had a celebratory beer.

Do you read your book reviews? How do you handle the good and the bad ones?

Luckily I haven’t had any really bad ones yet.

How long does it take you to write a book? Do you have any secrets to productivity?

It will have taken me about two years to write the current book, admittedly with a few lull

periods, with a fairly demanding day job.

Do you have any writing rituals?

Procrastination.

How important do you think marketing is for authors today?

This is the biggest challenge. And when all is said and done and you have followed everyone’s

Advice, you still might not sell many books. I think the key is to get some famous people to

read your books and get them to tell their friends and followers.

Many authors have a word or a phrase they automatically use too often. Do you have one?

Assumed, presumed, that, 😊

Thank you for sharing some of your story with us.

Sign up to the newsletter and find out when your favourite Kiwi author has a book out.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page