top of page

Interview with Susan Holt

Thank you Susan for coming today to share about your book.

Tell us about your latest novel or project:

My first book is called Catching the Last Tram. Beth meets Isaac on a tram (hence the title). Going to and from work, she begins to fall in love with him and wants to take it further, but Isaac inexplicably says no. When Isaac and the tram go missing, Beth is forced to find out the truth. But she could have left it too late…

What got you started writing?

I joined a writers group for a lark – and for social reasons – when I was living in Australia and ended up realising I could write. Who knew? It’s been a fabulous ride since then. I’ve still got LOTS to learn, though.

Who in your life is your greatest cheerleader or support in your writing?

My husband, Robert. He suggested a few years ago that I should stop doing my admin job and stay home to concentrate on my artistic endeavours – I’m an actress, too – and he was happy to become the sole breadwinner in the meantime. What an amazing man! Everyone should have a Robert – but they can’t have mine.

Why do you think readers are fascinated by books written about New Zealand?

Hello! Let’s face it, we live in the best country in the world – of course they’re interested in it!

Who is your favourite New Zealand author and why?

Elizabeth Knox. I love the world she created for quite a few of her books, especially as it ‘looks’ so much like New Zealand. I love the magic/fantasy aspects of her stories and that you just never know what is going to happen. Brilliant!

What advice would you give for other writers in New Zealand?

Get used to the marketing aspect of things. The more you know, the less likely it is someone will take advantage of you. Do some courses – Udemy is good (espeically when they have a sale). Copywriting, Facebook ads, branding, that sort of thing.

Don’t listen to negative author talk. Its just like negative actor talk (“Oh, there’s no work in the industry right now.”, “Kiwi’s don’t read Kiwi books.”, etc ad nauseum).

Do you get to network or meet up with other New Zealand authors?

Yes, definitely. I’m a member of the NZ Society of authors and also the Romance Writers of NZ. It’s brilliant, as you realise you’re not alone and they basically become your colleagues – and you find out about the bigger issues in the industry. That’s what’s so good about writing – other authors aren’t really your competition, as readers can buy both books, can’t they?

Do you read your book reviews? How do you handle the good and the bad ones?

Love and share the good ones. Try to read the bad ones with an open mind and an eye to see any patterns within them, just in case they can help me figure out how to get better. That’s the theory, anyway… Then I just scroll past them. There are simply people who will not like my book and I have to accept and live with that. I try to be a grown up about it. Sometimes it works.

How long does it take you to write a book? Do you have any secrets to productivity?

I’m trying to speed up my book-writing, although, I did get Catching the Last Tram out in 6 weeks. But I did then sit on it for months before finding a Manuscript Assessor. I don’t want to keep mucking around. The best thing I can do is book an editor/MA in for a particular date. Then I’ve got a deadline and that really works for getting me to pull finger.

I do the same thing. A great way to make yourself responsible for word count.

Where did you get the idea for your first or latest book?

Catching the Last Tram was a (literal) dream from beginning to end. I woke, sat up and immediately wrote out nine pages of the details I could remember. Then I had to figure out the most interesting point of view for the reader and certain character details (Isaac was originally a prince, but that wouldn’t have worked). The seed concept of my latest book (nearly done) came from another dream, but I had to work out a lot more. Remembering my dreams seems to be helpful.

If any of your books was to be made into a film, which one would you pick and who would you have play the main characters?

I think Catching the Last Tram would be a great film. I’d love Jennifer Ehle to play Beth (as she was in P&P, which is completely impossible) and Tom Hiddleston as Isaac (mmmm!).

How important do you think marketing is for authors today?

Absolutely essential. Even if you’re with a traditional publisher, you still need to have an ‘author platform’, ie. People on your email list, likes on your Facebook page, etc. Learn about it and do it – don’t be at other people’s mercy. And don’t cite introversion as an excuse – it’s not.

Plus, the more control you have over your access to your audience, the better. Things change all the time, so don’t depend on Amazon to keep track of your readers. Chat with them directly.

What quirk or trope of your genre do you like or dislike?

I love Fantasy Fiction because you can go anywhere, meet anyone and you can travel into the future – or the past. The fact that you can ask any question and then play with that in a story is the super power of an author. At its most powerful it can discuss what’s happening NOW by using another time/place and making people think. That’s what I aspire to.

Thank you so much for sharing your journey and I hope your next book is out soon.

Sign up to the newsletter and find out when your favourite Kiwi author has a book out.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page