top of page

Interview with Nikki Crutchley

Welcome Nikki, thank you for answering some of our questions.

Tell us about your latest novel or project:

Nothing Bad Happens Here is my first novel. It is a crime/thriller set on the Coromandel Coast of NZ in the fictional town of Castle Bay (loosely based on Whangamata). It follows the protagonist Miller Hatcher, a journalist, as she arrives in the small town to cover the murder of an English backpacker.

What got you started writing?

I’ve been writing on and off since I was about seven – maybe even younger. I was always an avid reader and had a desire to create stories like my favourite authors.

What challenges did you face when you first started writing?

I got back into writing seriously about five years ago. I had written quite a lot of flash fiction (short, short stories, 300 words or less) with some success. The idea of going from flash to a novel was quite a challenge – like running a marathon when I’d only ever sprinted.

Who in your life is your greatest cheerleader or support in your writing?

My husband. He’s the one who puts up with my moods and supports me when I’m lacking in confidence. He believes I can do it – so then, do I.

What is it like writing in New Zealand that would be different if you lived anywhere else?

NZ is a very small country and I feel grateful to be a kiwi writer. If I lived in the US or UK I don’t think my little self-published crime thriller would have got much, if any, exposure. But thanks to supportive bookstores and writer’s festivals and events I’m able to get myself out there. Publicity of any kind (Facebook/Twitter posts, newspaper articles etc) to a self-published author is a huge deal – every time!

Where do you get your ideas? Is there anything about New Zealand that has inspired you to write?

Ideas come from walking down the street, observing people, reading the newspaper, overhearing snippets of stories … everything is inspiration. My novel Nothing Bad Happens Here is set on the Coromandel Coast and my next novel, No One Can Hear You, is set in the fictional town of Crewe. Both are inspired by small towns throughout NZ. A lot of my characters are also typical Kiwis.

Why do you think readers are fascinated by books written about New Zealand?

I’m not sure if readers are particularly fascinated by books written about NZ. I read an article at the start of the year stating that out of all the fiction Kiwis bought only 3% was by Kiwi authors. But the people who have read my book have said that they love how familiar everything is – the setting, the characters, that they can relate easily to it and so are more drawn into the story.

Who is your favourite New Zealand author and why?

It’s way too hard to choose one! I love Deborah Challinor’s books, especially the Tamar series. I love epic historical novels that span generations. I also really enjoy crime writer Paul Cleave, such original ideas, and kind of dark and disturbing – in a good way! I love Vanda Symon’s Detective Sam Shepherd books. NZ set crime with a strong female character.

What advice would you give for other writers in New Zealand?

Persevere in everything you do. Self-publishing is a difficult route to take but also very rewarding. You’re a writer, but then you also need to put on sales/PR/distribution hats. Have confidence in what you’ve done as you’re the one selling it.

Do you get to network or meet up with other New Zealand authors?

I attend my local NZSA branch meeting every month where we normally have a guest speaker. I love to hear about other authors’ stories of how they got published. Everyone’s story is different.

What was the first thing you did after your first book was published?

Probably sat down with a glass of wine! When self-publishing there are so many little milestones that need toasting. Getting the first proof copy, taking delivery of boxes of books (and finding somewhere to put them!), visiting book shops and coming away with actual orders, first book reviews … A lot of wine has been consumed!

Do you read your book reviews? How do you handle the good and the bad ones?

Yes, I do. I’m a new author and reviews mean a lot to me. The good ones make me realise that I made the right decision to self-publish. They give me a little boost in confidence which is fabulous. I’m happy to say (so far) there’s only been one really bad review (as in, nothing positive at all was said) and that hit me quite hard and it’s safe to say I didn’t handle it particularly well (more wine). But the good has far outweighed the bad.

How long does it take you to write a book? Do you have any secrets to productivity?

Nothing Bad Happens Here took almost three years. When I first started writing it it was purely for myself, just to see if I could write a novel. I had no timeline. Some of that time included the book going into hibernation for a good nine months as I wasn’t sure what to do with it. I don’t really have any secrets to productivity – stay away from Facebook and Twitter would be a good start! My latest book, No One Can Hear You, was started in earnest (after lots of note-taking and pondering) in September so I’m definitely getting better productivity-wise.

Where did you get the idea for your first or latest book?

The book I’m finishing up now and getting ready for my editor, No One Can Hear You, came about from the idea that what if you went missing and there was no one around who noticed or cared enough to report your disappearance. I thought of the missing people articles in the newspaper or desperate parents on TV and thought – what if someone didn’t have that? Would they just disappear forever with no one brought to justice?

Do you have any writing rituals?

Not really. I do only (so far) write in one place, and that’s at my desk in the lounge. Most of my writing is done between 9-3 when my two girls are at school and the house is quiet.

What is your best experience meeting a fan?

I’m a relatively new author so haven’t met too many of my fans. Although I did have one person email me and tell me they hadn’t picked up a book since their son was born and he was now seven. She’d read my book and thanked me for getting her into reading again. That was pretty awesome.

How important do you think marketing is for authors today?

Hugely important for self-published authors. If you don’t market your book, only your friends and family will know you’ve published something. I’ve found social media (Twitter and Facebook) to be great to get your name out there. People have so much choice these days and you need to find a way to get your book in front of their faces and make them want to buy it.

Do you have any book you have written that won’t ever see the light of day and why?

When I got back into writing again I tried my hand at a historical novel. I don’t really fancy the research so that put the brakes on the project pretty quickly!

Many authors have a word or a phrase they automatically use too often. Do you have one?

‘Shrugged’ and ‘nodded’ – my characters do that a lot but hopefully my editor sorts that out.

What quirk or trope of your genre do you like or dislike?

I love the subgenres of crime fiction. If you get a bit sick of police procedurals you can try a psychological thriller, or if you get sick of that maybe a mystery. I love the way the genre has developed over many, many years but the classics – Agatha Christie and Ngaio Marsh – are still fantastic reads.

Thank you so much for sharing some of your story.

[if !supportLineBreakNewLine] [endif]

Sign up to the newsletter and find out when your favourite Kiwi author has a book out.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page