top of page

Interview with James Russell

A friend of mine put me onto James' books.

Tell us about your latest novel or project:

The Dragon Defenders - Book Three: An Unfamiliar Place

This is the third book in my junior novel series. The Dragon Defenders novels are among the world's first junior novels to incorporate augmented reality content, and certainly New Zealand's first. They follow on from the Dragon Brothers Trilogy of Picture books - the characters and story are the same, but the setting is three years later, and they're written for a different age group. As far as I know they're fairly unique in that a picture book series has been followed up with a junior novel series.

What got you started writing?

I've been a journalist for a while - almost 16 years. I began writing children's books when I had my own children - like most children's writers I suppose. I was horrified at the cynical, throwaway efforts by many publishers, and thought 'I can do better than this...'

What challenges did you face when you first started writing?

Writing a picture book in verse (fewer than 800 words) took me about the same amount of time that writing a junior novel of 25,000 words takes. It's very, very hard to get the meter and the rhythm perfect, so that it can't be read any other way. My biggest challenge was getting into the book stores - I'm an indie publisher, so it was all up to me. My tenacious streak stood me in good stead...

Do you ever get the opportunity to travel for your writing? Either to market or to research.

Best travel writing job ever - 6 magical days skiing and fine dining in Whistler, Canada. But that was for the newspaper. I did a seven-city US tour to launch my picture books in the US last year, and also travelled to the Frankfurt and Bologna Book Fairs.

Who in your life is your greatest cheerleader or support in your writing?

My wife, hands down. She thought it was a good idea when I declared: "I think I'm going to be a full-time writer"

What is it like writing in New Zealand that would be different if you lived anywhere else?

The market is small. All five of my books are best-sellers. I'm just making a living... sigh. Having said that, I'm ever so grateful to the book buyers of New Zealand. Being a writer is a charmed life... it's a dream come true.

Where do you get your ideas? Is there anything about New Zealand that has inspired you to write?

My books are inspired by the wild places here, which I love to visit. There's bits of Great Barrier Island and Northland in my characters' fictional island home, and more than a passing nod to good old Kiwi ingenuity.

Why do you think readers are fascinated by books written about New Zealand?

Who doesn't love stories they can relate to, set in places they've seen?

Who is your favourite New Zealand author and why?

Too tough to call. There are lots.

What advice would you give for other writers in New Zealand?

Doesn't matter whether you publish your own work, or a publisher does it for you. If you want to be a full time writer, you have to do as much (if not more) marketing as you do writing.

Do you get to network or meet up with other New Zealand authors?

Yes - but not as much as I'd like. I did a Storylines Tour of Canterbury with Maria Gill, Anne Kayes and James Norcliffe - it was wonderful to swap stories.

What was the first thing you did after your first book was published?

Wondered how I was going to get rid of the 5000 copies in my garage...

It is quite different self publishing children's books to Print on demand self publishing. I hope you now have an empty garage.

Do you read your book reviews? How do you handle the good and the bad ones?

Of course. I believe every word of the good ones, and wonder how the writers of the bad ones could be so deluded.

How long does it take you to write a book? Do you have any secrets to productivity?

I'm quick. A novel (30,000 words) takes about three weeks for the first draft. Do you have any writing rituals?

Once I've started, there's no stopping me until I'm done.

What is your best experience meeting a fan?

I didn't meet him, but a boy's parents videoed him opening a Christmas present of The Dragon Defenders - Book Two and sent me the video. He had enjoyed Book One so much he screamed with delight when he saw what was under the wrapping. There was no filter, because he was with his family, so I really saw how much it meant to him. That was special.

That brings a tear to my eye.

If any of your books was to be made into a film, which one would you pick and who would you have play the main characters?

The Dragon Defenders are born to be films - made right here in NZ - perhaps on Great Barrier Island?

How important do you think marketing is for authors today?

It's almost everything. Unless you have a Booker Winner, then the job's done. Otherwise, it's the only thing that will make yours poke out from the crowd - not just of the other books, but every other distraction in the world. It's noisy.

Do you have any book you have written that won’t ever see the light of day and why?

One little one, but it may still live.

Many authors have a word or a phrase they automatically use too often. Do you have one?

Finally... Often writers get to approach some serious subjects. Which serious subject are you most proud to have written about or was the hardest to write about?

I was the editor of Element magazine with the NZ Herald for four years, writing about environmental concerns, climate change, sustainable business and lifestyle. It was the world's first environmental magazine inserted into a mainstream newspaper with content tailored to newspaper readers. It wasn't preaching to the converted. It was turning people into believers - into conscious consumers. It was unique. I'm very proud of that.

Thank you so much for sharing some of your journey.

Sign up to the newsletter and find out when your favourite Kiwi author has a book out.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page