top of page

Interview with Ben Spies

Ben is by far the youngest author I've interviewed as he is only 12 years old.

Tell us about your latest novel or project:

I'm writing a book at the moment called The world of Greek Mythology. It is a book about my take on the Greek myths and legends.

What got you started writing?

My passion for writing started when I was really young. Possibly when I started learning it at school, I thought it was a really cool idea to share your writing with others. But I also believe I love writing because I'm an avid reader. I read a lot!

What challenges did you face when you first started writing?

I was so young that I think my real challenge was learning how to spell!

Do you ever get the opportunity to travel for your writing? Either to market or to research.

Me and my mum went up to Auckland one time for a book fair and more recently we went to Wanganui to visit three schools We do workshops too for other children who love writing, so a few months ago we went to Palmerston North library. My mum does all the marketing for my books. I just like writing. But we are planning more trips together..

Who in your life is your greatest cheerleader or support in your writing?

My family, especially my mum.

Why do you think readers are fascinated by books written about New Zealand?

Because it's a small country, and it has amazing nature, and has lots of native animals.

Who is your favourite New Zealand author?

Joy Cowley. She’s written some amazing children's books.

Do you get to network or meet up with other New Zealand authors?

My mum does. A lot.

What was the first thing you did after your first book was published?

Dance around in excitement.

Do you read your books reviews? How do you handle the good ones and the bad ones?

My mum shows me the reviews. I smile with the good ones, and learn from the bad ones.

How long does it take you to write a book? Do you have any secrets to productivity?

I try to write everyday after school, but sometimes it's hard as I also have activities to go to. The last few books took me around 8 to 12 months to write.

Keep writing.

Where did you get the idea for your latest book?

I really love Greek Mythology and have been reading a lot about it lately. I write about what I’m passionate about.

What is the best experience meeting a fan?

When they say something positive about your books. I was walking at the mall one day and a boy came to ask if I had written The Magic Pencil. It felt pretty good as he said it was the best book he had read!

If any of your books was to be made into a film, which one would you pick and who would you have play the main characters?

The Magic Pencil. I would like to play Bob.

How important do you think marketing is for authors today?

Very. I'm lucky because my mum has a background in Marketing and she does a lot of work for our books.

Do you have any book you have written that won't ever see the light of day and why?

Probably. I have so many ideas and not enough time to put them to paper. I met Joy Cowley once and she told me to concentrate in one book at a time. So that's what I'm doing. Once I finish The Greek Mythology book I have another one already in mind.

Many authors have a word or a phrase they automatically use too often. Do you have one?

Um… um.. um… yeah… *Chuckles* um… um…

Often writers get to approach some serious subjects. Which serious subject are you most proud to have written about or was the hardest to write about.

Soon I’m going to write a book about the end of the world because the human race is being careless and not looking after our beautiful planet earth.

You have certainly achieved an amazing things at such a young age. Thank you for sharing some of your story.

Sign up to the newsletter and find out when your favourite Kiwi author has a book out.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page