top of page

Interview with Kitrina Aroha Aubrey

Kitrina I think you are the first poet I've had the pleasure to interview. A real treat.

Tell us about your latest project:

At present I’m working on a series of Mana Spiritual Poetry Healing Books. These books endeavour to cover all aspects of a spiritual journey and a spiritual awakening. They aim to help people of all ages, sex and cultures overcome past life difficulties and fear by acknowledging and exploring their inner world’s to find the truth and treasures residing within them. The overall true intention of mana poetry is to elevate the vibration and hearts of people.

What got you started writing?

I suppose I have always had a niggling sensation for writing as such in fact from a young age. I wanted to help inspire and lift people up through expressing my soulful poetry.

What challenges did you face when you first started writing?

The toughest challenge for me was probably time management. Sometimes it's hard juggling work and family commitments. I had to leave my full time job to focus solely on my poetry writing. I couldn’t work all hours of the night and day and find that extra time for writing. In order to have overcome the challenge I had to make some pretty important sacrifices. Which I can say have been beneficial and have really taken my writing to another level. I now have more time to focus on writing and other things. Balance is the key.

Do you ever get the opportunity to travel for your writing? Either to market or to research.

I have been apart of the NZ Book festival held in various centres around Auckland. They hold this every year giving Authors from all over NZ a chance to attend. I have also tried a few markets and fairs.

Who in your life is your greatest cheerleader or support in your writing?

My partner is always encouraging and supporting me.

What is it like writing in New Zealand that would be different if you lived anywhere else?

I think it would be different for me personally because I am in my own element when I’m home in Aotearoa. I feel much connected.

Where do you get your ideas? Is there anything about New Zealand that has inspired you to write?

Yes of course everyone has ideas. Mine often come through prophetic visions. These are influenced by my ancestors and spiritual guides.

Why do you think readers are fascinated by books written about New Zealand?

Because readers know that NZ is a safe and wonderful place to live and the people of the land are One with it. NZ are so rich to the culture. We are very humbling to tourists. Readers would feel authenticity.

Who is your favourite New Zealand author and why?

Margaret Mahy- I love her writing because of the supernatural elements she uses in her stories and she writes a lot about growing up and human relationships.

What advice would you give for other writers in New Zealand?

My advice is to keep writing. It’s hard at first and the rewards are minimal but eventually you will get there. At the same time you will continue to grow within the journey itself. I would also consider self publishing an option if you are looking to publish a book and cut out the middleman. The best thing about Indie Authors is we have all the say, it’s cheaper and you are there throughout the whole process and makeup stages of your book. Your ideas are valuable and realised through self publishing.

Do you get to network or meet up with other New Zealand authors?

I have in the past. There are many groups available for NZ Writers. Online as well.

What was the first thing you did after your first book was published?

After my first book launching I was invited to do an exhibition which was really good recognition. I didn’t sell many that day but what was achieved is something more than money. This opportunity gave me a physical insight and feel for the industry and I also got to meet and connect with lots of amazing authors, publishers, printers etc. Some who are my friends today.

Do you read your book reviews? How do you handle the good and the bad ones?

Yes I do read them. I think it’s vital that writers take time out to read all reviews as these can help with improvements and builds a good rapport. I always tend to reply back to the person and thank them. I have been fortunate to have not received any negative feedback. However, if in the future I happen to receive one- I would probably make contact with them in hope not to change their feedback but to help me identify where I went wrong and improve from there. I would encourage them to make any suggestions. I would encourage all writers not to let one bad review knock your confidence or define you. Learn from it and humble yourself.

How long does it take you to write a book? Do you have any secrets to productivity?

There is no time limit in this process. If I wanted to I could very well write a book in a month. However what would that achieve. The knowledge I need and inspiration comes in phases. I just flow with it rather than control the process. My overall secret is I guess having complete faith and trust, patience in all who are working alongside you to help bring your book together.

Where did you get the idea for your first or latest book?

The concepts and ideas are received from my own inner being and higher visions. I'm also totally in tune and synced with the Universe around me. Honestly though my Uncle Bob Orr (NZ Poet). One day I showed him a rough script of my work and he said I should get it published. He saw my work as unique.

Do you have any writing rituals?

I prefer to write all my poetry in the beautiful elements of nature.

What is your best experience meeting a fan?

I remember my partner and I were on a date in the city. Our night included dinner and dancing. A young lady recognised me from the books being advertised online. I was a little overwhelmed being noticed in a crowd and not expecting it. Cut a long story short we are still friends today.

How important do you think marketing is for authors today?

Marketing is super important for any author. Both offline and online markets. I find personally Facebook and Instagram really valuable sites to advertise your books. There’s a huge audience to reach.

Many authors have a word or a phrase they automatically use too often. Do you have one?

“The vision is truly yours”

What quirk or trope of your genre do you like or dislike?

I adore them all.

Often writers get to approach some serious subjects. Which serious subject are you most proud to have written about or was the hardest to write about?

I guess the hardest subjects I have written about are the ones that people choose to sweep under the carpet and continue today to run away from. The hardest, scariest lessons and experiences in life. Spirituality is one of the main subjects I have and will continue to write about. I was massively proud of myself to have written a book about the falling and rising of a woman. Much of the book was based on my own trials and tribulations. The challenge was that I turn those struggles into something positive and inspiring to help others get through their pain. There’s always something positive that comes from a negative.

Thank you so much for sharing some of your process with us.

Sign up to the newsletter and find out when your favourite Kiwi author has a book out.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page