top of page

Interview with Maria Gill

Maria is definitely well rounded as an author as she writes in multiple genres.

Tell us about your latest novel or project:

I’ve just finished a book for New Holland called ‘Earthquakes: Shaking New Zealand’, and started a new book for Scholastic due out later in the year.

What got you started writing?

I was a voracious reader as a child and wanted to write books since I was a teen.

What challenges did you face when you first started writing?

Targeting the right publisher for my books.

Do you ever get the opportunity to travel for your writing? Either to market or to research.

Yes, I’ve travelled to Australia twice for research at Canberra’s Australian War Museum, plus driven or flown to archive libraries and museums in New Zealand. I promoted my last two books in Australia too, including Tasmania.

Who in your life is your greatest cheerleader or support in your writing?

My critique group, especially Lorraine Orman and Heather Arnold. They give excellent feedback and are very supportive.

What is it like writing in New Zealand that would be different if you lived anywhere else?

I don’t think there are as many opportunities here as there are in other countries. We often have to be proactive in promoting our books and think outside-of-the-square. I think our books might be more international and be sold more overseas.

Where do you get your ideas? Is there anything about New Zealand that has inspired you to write?

I look back to the past for ideas, plus I think of my audience, and what would inspire them to be the best they can be. I also consider the school curriculum and whether it would fit into the science, health or reading syllabus.

Why do you think readers are fascinated by books written about New Zealand?

It’s about our people, places, animals and wildlife – it gives meaning to our lives.

Who is your favourite New Zealand author and why?

Died – Margaret Mahy, Alive – Brian Falkner.

What advice would you give for other writers in New Zealand?

Keep attending courses, workshops and conferences throughout your writing career – you’ll always learn something that will enhance your writing/career.

Do you get to network or meet up with other New Zealand authors?

There’s a Facebook page that published children’s authors communicate on, we also often get together at festivals, conferences, and tours. I find it vital to keep in contact with other professional authors – it’s quite a lonely profession.

What was the first thing you did after your first book was published?

Writing is a long game, so I was probably working on the next manuscript. Around that time, I started the Graduate Diploma of Journalism Studies – and found that degree really helpful for my non-fiction writing.

Do you read your book reviews? How do you handle the good and the bad ones?

I do read them. The good ones I put on Facebook or my website and feel relieved they’re being received well. The bad ones, I cringe and feel embarrassed. If I feel it is unjustified I just think, well, that is just one person’s opinion.

How long does it take you to write a book? Do you have any secrets to productivity?

It depends on the size of the book, some take several weeks (educational books with a tight time frame), some take several months (around 32 pages), and a few have taken a year (68 pages plus). I plan extensively beforehand so that I’m not wasting time researching information I don’t need. I call it ‘working smart’. I write every day and often set lists/goals of what I want to achieve by the end of the week.

Where did you get the idea for your first or latest book?

For the earthquake book I was asked to write it. For my current book I read that there was a commemoration for a significant event coming up and pitched the idea to a publisher.

Do you have any writing rituals?

I sit at my desk at 8.00 am every day. First, I deal with the emails, have a sneak peak at Facebook, and then look at my ‘To Do’ list and start working on it. I don’t stop researching/writing/organising until 6.00 pm that night. I often work seven days a week.

What is your best experience meeting a fan?

I love it when I’ve told children about a new book coming out and afterwards they come up to me and ask where they can buy it and you can tell they are really excited by it. The best singular experience was when I was talking to several classes in Brisbane, Australia and a young girl came up afterwards and thanked me for including an Aboriginal soldier in my book ‘Anzac Heroes’. When travelling up North, teachers will sometimes thank me for sharing the stories about Maori soldiers, sports people, etc.

How important do you think marketing is for authors today?

It is incredibly important. There’s no point writing the book if you’re not prepared to market it. That involves library, school and bookshop visits/talks and touring with Storylines or by yourself.

Do you have any book you have written that won’t ever see the light of day and why?

I have quite a few in my drawer that have been turned-down by multiple publishers. I don’t totally given up on them, though. I started writing an albatross book eight years ago, and waited to see if it returned to New Zealand and had a chick before sending it to a publisher. Potton & Burton published ‘Toroa’s Journey’ in October 2017.

Many authors have a word or a phrase they automatically use too often. Do you have one?

I probably over-use quite a few. I look for them when I’m editing.

Often writers get to approach some serious subjects. Which serious subject are you most proud to have written about or was the hardest to write about?

Because I write non-fiction a lot of my subjects are serious. I’ve written about earthquakes, volcanoes, New Zealand government, environmental issues, endangered species. I think about how they can fit into the New Zealand curriculum and find a way to make it interesting for children.

Thank you so much for sharing some of your story.

Sign up to the newsletter and find out when your favourite Kiwi author has a book out.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page