top of page

Interview with Rebecca Moir

Rebecca has recently published her first book.

Tell us about your latest novel:

Rise of Ashwood is my first novel, and part of a trilogy currently in the works. The trilogy focuses on three siblings – Isabella, Isadora, and Isaac Ashwood – who have unusually strong magical abilities. Rise of Ashwood largely focuses on Isabella, while setting up Isadora’s journey and introducing Isaac.

As a young woman of mixed heritage in a particularly homogenous town, Isabella is seen as an outsider, and is somewhat looked down on. Using magic, her sister tries to give her a better life: unfortunately, this ‘better life’ brings with it a new set of problems.

What got you started writing?

I’ve always enjoyed telling stories. I was the kid forcing her siblings to put on plays, and making up stories for us all at bedtime. I’ve pretty much been writing short stories ever since I learned how to write, but Rise of Ashwood is my first full-length novel.

What challenges did you face when you first started writing?

Learning how to keep going. When you’re used to writing shorter pieces, it can be a challenge to keep writing with the same characters in the same universe, no matter how much you love them. I’ve definitely gotten better at staying focused chapter by chapter – so hopefully the next two books will be easier.

Who in your life is your greatest cheerleader or support in your writing?

I’m fortunate that my friends and family have all been really supportive, it hasn’t been a case of just one person helping me to stay positive and focused – everyone has helped at one time or another.

Where do you get your ideas? Is there anything about New Zealand that has inspired you to write?

The space. When you have so many opportunities to be alone in wild places, your mind is free to wander. If I’m stuck trying to work out what comes next, I’ll often go for a walk (usually around Wellington) and think things through: trees, birds, fresh air, even rain and wind, usually help me get into a more creative headspace.

What advice would you give for other writers in New Zealand?

There’s nothing stopping you. I think that it is hard to earn a stable income solely from writing, but simply publishing is easier than ever, with the advent of self-publishing (especially on Kindle/Kobo and other digital platforms). If you really want to write something, and get it out there – just do it. Don’t let anyone tell you that you can’t.

Do you get to network or meet up with other New Zealand authors?

Not often, although I do have a few friends who write and have published various pieces. One of the good things about living in the middle of Wellington is that there are plenty of creative people around, who understand what you’re trying to achieve, and can help you to stay inspired.

What was the first thing you did after your first book was published?

I was actually late for dinner. I’m self-published: I was literally uploading my files to Kindle when everyone else was heading out the door, and as soon as it was done I drove into town, met up with everyone, and had a celebratory glass of wine!

Do you read your book reviews? How do you handle the good and the bad ones?

Yes. I think, as a creative person who has been on stage etc. – and therefore been literally face to face with people judging your efforts, in real time – I’ve learned not to let negativity get to me. Constructive criticism is useful, and you have to let yourself be open to that, but any ‘critique’ which is just “I think you suck” isn’t something you should internalise. Sometimes easier said than done, of course, but I’ve been lucky so far that I’ve been able to shrug off any nastiness and focus instead on words of support and helpful suggestions.

Where did you get the idea for your first or latest book?

It’s such a cliché, but I had a weird dream, inspired in part by Madonna’s Ghosttown video. The protagonist in Rise of Ashwood (Isabella) was originally more like me, until I decided to split her into two people (Isabella and her sister, Isadora), but otherwise the family is the way I dreamed them, just in a different setting. Then I gave them strange new abilities, added new characters, change the timeline a bit, and then… the story started to come together.

How long does it take you to write a book? Do you have any secrets to productivity?

Too long! I’m still working on it… I hope I’m getting faster. I actually find drinking ridiculous amounts of tea helps – getting up to make it gives my eyes a break from the computer screen, and helps me write for longer.

Do you have any writing rituals?

Lots of tea. Just… so much tea.

It’s a good way to take a break from staring at your screen, and keeps you hydrated, so I find that if I drink several cups over the course of the day, I stayed focused for longer.

If any of your books was to be made into a film, which one would you pick and who would you have play the main characters?

I think, if I had the choice, I wouldn’t want films made so much as a series, in the same sort of style as BBC’s Sherlock. All going well, the Passages of Time Chronicles will be a number of shorter series, stand-alone novels, etc., in the same world throughout its history… which lends itself to sporadic mini-series.

I have no idea who I would want to play each part, although I would insist that their appearances don’t stray too far from the novel (especially with regard to race), as sometimes happens.

How important do you think marketing is for authors today?

Self-publishing means you do your own marketing, and at the moment, for me, that means a lot of social media marketing. I think, with the ease of self-publishing, there are so many more authors out there, with so many different stories to tell, that you need to be prepared to put your book/s out there as much as you can, so that those who will enjoy them can actually find them.

Do you have any book you have written that won’t ever see the light of day and why?

I think I have a lot of ideas and the beginnings of books that might be interesting to other people, but that I can’t get stuck into for some reason. I find I write more easily when I feel as if I am telling myself the story, and if I lose interest in the story, then it isn’t going to get far.

My first attempt at writing a novel fell by the wayside simply because I knew the story too well, and it felt like writing an essay: although who knows, I may go back to some of those earlier ideas someday.

Many authors have a word or a phrase they automatically use too often. Do you have one?

My sister noted that the draft of Rise of Ashwood had a ridiculous number of instances of ‘for all that’, which I never noticed. Thankfully, I was able to fix it in editing! Always appreciate the value of having someone look over your work with fresh eyes.

What quirk or trope of your genre do you like or dislike?

I think easy-reading fantasy stories too often fall back on classic tropes, especially the white protagonist. Some of the most interesting characters in my favourite books are the side-characters from other countries, who bring different ideas and solutions with them to whatever problem is being faced, or present unfamiliar difficulties. This holds true in other ways as well: different religions, different sexualities, different gender identities – the straight white protagonist is over-played, and it’s time for others to shine.

I do think that Fantasy, on the whole, is starting to get better at this (particularly in self-publishing circles), but we’ve got a long way to go.

Female sexual experiences are something I’m proud to have written about. It can be hard to keep things realistic, yet still romantic, but I didn’t want to describe someone’s first time in an unrealistic way and play into stereotypes and overly-ambitious expectations.

The hardest to write about is racism, because I don’t personally experience it, but I do think it’s an important subject to address. Race comes up a bit in Rise of Ashwood because the Ashwood sisters are mixed race, living in a white community – however, later events mean that race will be more studied in the sequel than they are in this novel.

Thank you for sharing some of your story and good luck with your next project.

Sign up to the newsletter and find out when your favourite Kiwi author has a book out.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page