top of page

Interview with Judy Lawn

Judy has been writing for a few decades now.

Tell us about your latest novel or project:

Another children’s picture book, working title, Weka, and another two picture books waiting in the wings. Also working on another non-fiction book, writing for children – yet to finalise title.

What got you started writing?

One day I decided I wanted to be a writer – truly.

What challenges did you face when you first started writing?

I realised I couldn’t write the way I wanted to and that I had forgotten all the English lessons of school days – so I went back to school via correspondence and then university.

Do you ever get the opportunity to travel for your writing? Either to market or to research.

Whenever and wherever I travelled I always noticed things I might one day write about. I have been to many schools to read my books.

Who in your life is your greatest cheerleader or support in your writing?

Friends and family.

Where do you get your ideas? Is there anything about New Zealand that has inspired you to write? Most of my books are set in New Zealand. Ideas for my books come from my love of the sea, and a childhood spent exploring the countryside, bush, beaches, rook pools, farmlands and parks in our wonderful country.

Why do you think readers are fascinated by books written about New Zealand?

Our country contains unique flora and fauna not found anywhere else in the world. People love our kiwis and other native birds, and stories about them will always fascinate readers.

Who is your favourite New Zealand author and why?

Katherine Mansfield is my favourite New Zealand author. I discovered her many years ago through the English papers I did at Massy University. Oh, and I have my mother’s copy of her complete short stories. Wonderful!

I would also like to mention how much I love Joy Cowley’s books.

What advice would you give for other writers in New Zealand?

Stay true to your writing style and always write about the things that interest you as this will provide authenticity.

Do you get to network or meet up with other New Zealand authors?

Over the years I have met and talked writing with many wonderful New Zealand authors.

What was the first thing you did after your first book was published?

Laughed and cried happy tears.

Do you read your book reviews? How do you handle the good and the bad ones?

I do read them. Good reviews are wonderfully heartening especially when readers understand what you have tried to say. Only really had one bad review – was a bit startled!

How long does it take you to write a book? Do you have any secrets to productivity?

It takes me longer to write a novel – about a year. I am not a fast writer. My advice to other writers is to keep going; don’t ever give up. ( I wrote about my period of writer’s block in my book Take Heart & Write.

Where did you get the idea for your first or latest book?

From my love of the sea and the New Zealand bush.

Do you have any writing rituals?

Not really, but my computer calls to me. I can’t resist that call to action!

What is your best experience meeting a fan?

It’s always a thrill to hear that children love my books; that is what it’s all about. To know you have made someone happy is the best feeling of all.

If any of your books was to be made into a film, which one would you pick and who would you have play the main characters?

I think I’d like Timeboy Book One: Gondwana to be made into a film. It’s actually meant to be a trilogy; I’m working on it! Can’t think who to play the characters as there would need to be two people to play one character because of the age difference; my characters age throughout the story.

How important do you think marketing is for authors today?

Marketing is everything today – so much more than it was 30 years ago when I began writing.

Do you have any book you have written that won’t ever see the light of day and why?

Yes, many romance novels. They are not worthy of publication being what I refer to as RR’s – regurgitated rubbish!

Many authors have a word or a phrase they automatically use too often. Do you have one? Too often I use the work “little” and have to be vigilant in deleting it!

What quirk or trope of your genre do you like or dislike?

I like stories about animals and birds and other creatures as they offer so many opportunities for authors and readers to discover life through their adventures. I dislike stories about butts, bottoms, pooh and farts. Gag.

Often writers get to approach some serious subjects. Which serious subject are you most proud to have written about or was the hardest to write about?

Most of my stories are what is referred to as “coming of age” stories. Serious topics I have covered are: being comfortable in your own skin, freedom, fitting in, friendship, parent/sibling relationships, stranger danger, courage, vanity, and home is where the heart is.

Thank you so much for sharing your story and good luck on your next project.

Sign up to the newsletter and find out when your favourite Kiwi author has a book out.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page