top of page

Interview with Wendy Vella

There is more to Romance than people realise. I saw once some said Romance is important because choosing a mate is literally life and death for women. Considering that women who are murdered or assaulted are almost always done so by their romantic partner. So when we read romance it isn't just about falling in love with a charming gentleman and dreaming of dancing in lavish ballrooms. We are actually dreaming of a world where men do not prey on women. So I have a lot of respect for Romance writers and particularly Regency. With fans who will nit pick every detail for accuracy. Wendy Vella not only embarked on this path but has done well at it.

Tell us about your latest novel or project:

I have a few projects on the go at once. I write, contemporary, Regency, and Regency/paranormal romance, and mostly series, so it keeps me busy. At the moment I’m starting a new contemporary series which is fun. I always enjoy creating a new town and characters.

What got you started writing?

I started writing when I was travelling and working in London. The job was slow, so when my boss wasn’t looking I would work on a book. Romance was a natural choice for me, as that’s what I read. As a first attempt it was pretty horrendous if I’m being honest. I pull it out of the shoebox where it hides occasionally, and have a laugh.

I have a couple of those myself.

What challenges did you face when you first started writing?

I started when traditional publishing was the only way to get published. The process was a long laborious one, which involved sending a synopsis or partial manuscript to an editor by post. The hope was they actually looked at it. It would take months to hear back, and often you didn’t. I’m actually still waiting on two. It’s been ten years!

Do you ever get the opportunity to travel for your writing? Either to market or to research.

I did get to London a few years ago, my son was living there at the time, and I did plenty of research while I was there. Investigating and taking walking tours, dragging my husband with me. I love the Regency era, and seeing places that I have read and written about was wonderful. In July this year I also went to the Romance Writers of America conference in Orlando. This was the first time for me, and it was great networking and meeting people I’d only known via social media. Plus I got to meet my writing idols, Susan Elizabeth Phillips, and Jayne Ann Krentz.

Love Jayne, especially her newer stuff. She is the one that introduced me to Science fiction Romance

Who in your life is your greatest cheerleader or support in your writing?

My husband and two children without question. Hubby has put up with me for years tapping away on my laptop, or scribbling notes. I talk to myself constantly also, which he’s used too. He’s a wonderful man. When I first started writing I did so while working full time with two young kids. Because time was limited I wrote in front of the TV. I would put my headphones on and that’s how I taught myself to write anywhere. My family understood it was writing time. They’re the best support system I could ever ask for.

What is it like writing in New Zealand that would be different if you lived anywhere else?

I love New Zealand, and sure the digital age has made communication easier, but we do miss out on things here. Conferences are expensive to get to so we can’t attend as many as our American colleagues. There are also things like ACX (Amazon’s audio creation exchange) that we can’t access here in NZ. Plus, I write for the American market, so I have a really good editor who makes sure I’m using the right spelling and tone.

Where do you get your ideas? Is there anything about New Zealand that has inspired you to write?

My ideas are just there in my head. I’m pretty much inspired all the time to write. I definitely haven’t discounted writing something set in New Zealand in the future, because I believe the scenery and people here are one of a kind. Leaving NZ to travel makes you realize just how lucky we are!

Why do you think readers are fascinated by books written about New Zealand?

It’s a beautiful place. We have so much that other countries don’t have, and people genuinely want to know about us and our country. Plus, there’s Lord of the Rings!

Who is your favourite New Zealand author and why?

I love Lynley Dodd. My kids loved her Hairy Maclary books, and of course Nalini Singh. She’s one of New Zealand’s most successful writers we have, and such a wonderful person and role model. Very giving of her time and experience to those in the romance writing community.

What advice would you give for other writers in New Zealand?

I think it would be the same advice for any writer anywhere in the world starting out. Get the words down. Finishing that first book is one of the most rewarding things I’ve ever done. Don’t stop and re-write, just get to the end.

Do you get to network or meet up with other New Zealand authors?

All the time. I think this is vital. Writing is a lonely, isolated career. I spend all day in my head, talking to fictitious characters, so it’s good to talk to real people now and again. Actually I meet up twice a week with other writers. I also spend a lot of time on skype.

What was the first thing you did after your first book was published?

A happy dance. I then went out to dinner with friends and family. The next day I started on my next book.

Do you read your book reviews? How do you handle the good and the bad ones?

I did to start with, but I found myself getting annoyed and worked up about the bad ones, so now I get my assistant to read them. I think it’s important someone does, because there may be an issue with one of your books that you haven’t picked up on. So she does this for me.

How long does it take you to write a book? Do you have any secrets to productivity?

No secrets, it’s just sit down and right. I can write a book in a month.

Where did you get the idea for your first or latest book?

The book I’m writing at the moment is the first in my second contemporary romance series. I was looking for vacation places actually, and came across the town of Breckenridge in Colorado. It’s pretty cool, and I’m loosely basing my town around it. I’m trying to convince my husband to take me there too. So far no success.

Do you have any writing rituals?

I just need my headphones on, and then I can write anywhere at anytime of the day.

What is your best experience meeting a fan?

My fans are mainly overseas. I get lots of lovely emails and FB messages, which I always reply to. I did have a special FB message once from a reader going through tough times, and reading my Lake Howling series helped her through them.

If any of your books was to be made into a film, which one would you pick and who would you have play the main characters?

I have a series about the Sinclair and Raven families. It’s Regency Romance with a touch of paranormal. I would cast Kate Beckinsale as the heroine, and Tom Hardy as the hero. I’d pay to see that!

How important do you think marketing is for authors today?

I think it’s very important, but I also believe it becomes more so when you have a few books published. I didn’t spend a great deal of money on marketing until I had at least three books published, so that readers could buy the second and third once they’d read the first, if they enjoyed it.

Do you have any book you have written that won’t ever see the light of day and why?

Plenty! About seven of them. They’re horrible, but I think of them as my apprenticeship.

Many authors have a word or a phrase they automatically use too often. Do you have one?

So many of them I couldn’t name them all, but which, and then, are big repeaters for me.

What quirk or trope of your genre do you like or dislike?

Not a quirk, or trope actually, but I love the Regency era, simply because no one alive today existed then. It allows for a certain amount of creative license. As long as you keep the dates and people from that time period accurate, it’s a lot of fun.

Often writers get to approach some serious subjects. Which serious subject are you most proud to have written about or was the hardest to write about?

In the first contemporary book I wrote, A Promise Of Home, I had a woman who had suffered abuse at the hands of her husband. I think to date this has been the hardest subject I’ve written about, because it is very real for many women, and I did not want to treat it lightly.

Like I said at the start romance is a serious issue for women because of the inherent dangers of trusting someone so deeply. Thank you so much for sharing your story with us. [if !supportLineBreakNewLine] [endif]

Sign up to the newsletter and find out when your favourite Kiwi author has a book out.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page