top of page

Interview with Mouse Diver-Dudfield

I love the name. Nick Names are a great idea for writers names. It makes your unique without having to come up with something completely new.

Tell us about your latest novel or project:

My current project is a post-apocalyptic sci-fi series called The Tilt Series. It is set in Central Otago 350 years after an environmental disaster destroyed the world. Bathed under deadly solar radiation humanity’s last outpost, Sinai, teeters on the brink of genetic collapse. Originally the series was one large book called Magenta Rising, but after advice from other authors, I split it in two: Magenta Rising and Sinai’s Descent.

Yes, Magenta Rising will be out in September. Very exciting. If you want to preorder it click here.

What got you started writing?

When I was eleven years old I had a vivid dream. It was so compelling and real that, as soon as I awoke, I knew I had to write it down. As things transpire I began adding to the dream and, before I knew it, I had my first story. I was hooked straight away and told my parents that their daughter was going to be a writer. They humoured me until the “get real career” talk after high school; but by that stage I knew that writing was all that I wanted to do.

What challenges did you face when you first started writing?

Part of the reason my parents had issues with me choosing to be writer was that I was diagnosed with dyslexia at 10 years old. Most of my early stuff was a mess and only I could read it, even if it was typed out. But the more I wrote the better I got. Now years later I have no issues at all and I think my passion to write was 100% what got me through it.

I also have dyslexia. I once told my kids reading and writing for me is like a one legged person learning to swim. Difficult but not impossible.

Do you ever get the opportunity to travel for your writing? Either to market or to research.

I’ve travelled to some places that I write about for inspiration, such as England and Ireland. When I write closer to home, I often take the family on day trips to places I’m writing about.

Who in your life is your greatest cheerleader or support in your writing?

That will have to be my husband David. We’ve been together almost 20 years and from the start he has been my biggest fan. His support is overwhelming and with him backing me I’ve always thought I could take on the world.

Is there anything about New Zealand that has inspired you to write?

Growing up surrounded by Central Otago’s picturesque landscape, southern New Zealand’s rich history, and my Māori and Pākehā heritage.

Why do you think readers are fascinated by books written about New Zealand?

Our geographical isolation, diverse landscapes, cultural history, coupled with our unique flora and fauna can really appeal to people’s imaginations. Without question, Aotearoa/New Zealand holds a real sense of magic and mystery for non-kiwis.

Who is your favourite New Zealand author and why?

In 2016 I gave myself a whole year of only reading New Zealand authors. It was the best thing I ever did – the quantity and quality of local authors was incredible. It would be impossible for me to choose which one as my tastes vary so much.

I had a friend who did the same and also found it very satisfying.

What advice would you give for other writers in New Zealand?

Support other kiwi authors the way you would want to be supported. Writing is a solitary occupation so it’s easy to get isolated and to feel overwhelmed, but don’t be afraid to ask for help. We’re a friendly bunch.

Do you get to network or meet up with other New Zealand authors?

Yes regularly. Southern authors stick together and meet weekly to support each other and share ideas.

What was the first thing you did after your first book was published?

Pretended it never happened. I was so nervous I couldn’t think about it.

Do you read your book reviews? How do you handle the good and the bad ones?

I’m like most I read them with my breath held, until I see it’s a good one. But even when I get bad ones I eventually just shrug it off as their opinion.

It seems like everything has Easter Eggs (surprise reference to your other work) do you have any Easter Eggs in your books?

Yes, my obsession with panthers. Ever since I started writing Magenta Rising I would drop these ferocious felines into my other work; not always overtly, sometimes they are just mentioned in passing or are alluded to by the presence of a black cat in a chair.

How long does it take you to write a book? Do you have any secrets to productivity?

Six months to three years, depending on the book. My only secret to creative productivity is two cups of coffee and to not touch the internet first thing in the morning.

How important do you think marketing is for authors today?

So very important. Writing the book was the easy part! These days’ authors, working outside the constraints of traditional publishing, are expected to be their own proof readers, editors, and marketers.

Do you have any book you have written that won’t ever see the light of day and why?

Oh I have tons, mainly romance, written back when I was a teenager. They’re okay, but not what I am aiming for anymore, and with changes in technology they are now very outdated. Maybe in a few years time they could be reclassified as historical romance... lol.

Many authors have a word or a phrase they automatically use too often. Do you have one?

I use “instantly” and “smile” waaaaay to much. I have to go back in the editing stage and find and replace dozens of them. But it makes me, errr... instantly smile... when I can’t think of anything better at the time for writing.

Thank goodness for the find button in word. Thank you for sharing some of your story with us.

Sign up to the newsletter and find out when your favourite Kiwi author has a book out.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page