top of page

Interview Bronwyn Elsmore

Bronwyn Elsmore has been celebrating New Zealand authors even before I thought about writing my first novel.

Author Name/Pen Name:

I use my own name, Bronwyn Elsmore, almost always. Occasionally, though, I break out and adopt an alter ego or use a pen name. Don’t ask me to elaborate. Writers use a nom de plume because either they think their own name isn’t marketable enough, or they don’t want readers to know who wrote the work. There are many reasons for the latter, so don’t assume it’s because they are ashamed of it, as I have heard said.

I use a Pen name myself and that is mainly because my real name is too similar to another author names and I wanted to stand out from the crowd. There are actually several reasons but this is one I tell people. So I think it is great you break out and adopt an alter ego.

Tell us about your latest novel or project:

Right now I am sitting on a completed book of short stories that I will get around to kicking into publication in the next few months. Then there are a couple of novels that I’ve started and put aside when other things seem more pressing. Not to mention a play or two that might or might not ever make it to the stage. So many ideas…

I should put aside other things I am doing and make a new work plan. Again.

What got you started writing?

It’s what I’ve always been. My first job when I left school was as a writer for Radio New Zealand. That’s a fair way back. Since then I’ve covered the range the profession offers – copywriter, freelancer, contract writer, education writer, playwright, short story writer, novelist, editor, writing tutor and mentor. For sixteen years I was also an academic but I’ve always considered myself a professional writer.

Do you ever get the opportunity to travel for your writing? Either to market or to research.

For my non-fiction titles on Maori prophetic movements I travelled throughout North Island doing research. These days I do things the other way around – travel for my pleasure and then write about it.

I think you might have cracked it there with that recipe.

Is there anything about New Zealand that has inspired you to write?

Everything about New Zealand inspires me to write. If that seems like a glib comment, believe me, it’s not. I am a product of this country and identify with it strongly. Though I have travelled throughout the world and spent time in other countries, this where I belong.

My five non-fiction titles – most notably Like Them That Dream: the Maori and the Old Testament, and Mana From Heaven: a century of Maori prophets in New Zealand – have had three publishers and been kept in print for around thirty years.

Though my novel Every Five Minutes, is set in Auckland the story could occur in many places in the world, and I expect this is partly why it is the one of my fiction books that sells best on Amazon.

So perhaps, because of my local focus, I am not as commercially successful as I would be had I made my stories more international and less grounded in this country. But it is not a decision I regret.

What advice would you give for other writers in New Zealand?

Remove almost all adverbs and most adjectives.

Ah, yes the dreaded ly disease of so many manuscripts.

Do you read your book reviews? How do you handle the good and the bad ones?

I put the writers of good reviews on my list of people to receive a legacy from my fortune following my death. Now I just have to work on making that fortune so they won’t be disappointed.

If any of your books was to be made into a film, which one would you pick and who would you have play the main characters?

More than one reader has told me they’d like to see my book Every Five Minutes as a film. I think finding the right director would be more important than the actors, but let me see…

Because I am enthusiastic about New Zealand arts and love to see our own actors employed, I’ll take my pick locally. There are many actors who are the right age and would make a good Gina and Mark. For Gina – Danielle Cormack, Robyn Malcolm, Katie Wolf, or Luanne Gordon who did a lovely job in my stage play Fallout: the Sinking of the Rainbow Warrior. For Mark, I’d fancy Shane Cortese, Antony Starr, or Martin Henderson. I have confidence in the skills of actors and am sure they would all bring much to the parts.

However, if Hollywood want to do it, I’d settle for Julia Roberts and Hugh Jackman.

How important do you think marketing is for authors today?

Unfortunately, it seems to be very necessary. As with most authors, it’s the part of the job I hate. By doing it I have learned a lot, but am not pleased that I have had to. When I make that fortune I will employ a PA to take care of everything to do with the business side.

Do you have any book you have written that won’t ever see the light of day and why?

Possibly. I have one that is mostly written but I don’t know whether or not I wish to publish it. Some days I think, yes it would be a hoot; on other days I think maybe not. If it does go to print it will be one for the nom de plume.

Sign up to the newsletter and find out when your favourite Kiwi author has a book out.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page