top of page

Interview with Cheryl Phipps

An essential in any book I read is a little bit of romance. Cheryl Phipps would probably agree with me.

Tell us about your latest novel or project.

I am writing and launching a Billionaire Series over the next few months, which revolves around the ‘Knights’ – a family of 5 siblings. There’s a bit of heat, and because I am an incurable romantic there is of course a happy ever after in each story. The first 2 Novellas are in different boxed sets and I’m hoping to make lists with 1 or both sets. The third will be out a week after the second. The fourth and fifth are hopefully out prior to Christmas.

HEA is essential as far as I'm concerned when it comes to reading.

What got you started writing?

I’ve always done it. At school, at home for my children and now just for me and my readers. I love it, and it’s the only way to shush those voices in my head. lol

What challenges did you face when you first started writing?

I was hopeless. In fact, I daresay my first book I published should be taken down, but it reminds me how far I’ve come.

That is how I feel as well about my own books. So can totally relate.

Who in your life is your greatest cheerleader or support in your writing?

My husband. He’s given me the opportunity to do this full-time because he’s always believed in me.

Do you ever get the opportunity to travel for your writing? Either to market or to research.

I have just returned from RWA in Orlando. It’s so far from here that I felt duty bound to add on a 4-day Bahama cruise. What we do for our art! Lol

I did a lot of networking and interviewed people who had lots to say about this career.

Okay, now I'm jealous. The cruise of course but I was just reading up on some of the things talked about at the RWA.

What is it like writing in New Zealand that would be different if you lived anywhere else?

Our market is mainly USA so it’s imperative to find your voice but also allow it to be heard elsewhere, and be understood. It is a disadvantage, but I couldn’t live anywhere else.

Where do you get your ideas? Is there anything about New Zealand that has inspired you to write?

People and places. I’ve travelled a bit and to be fair New Zealand as a country has so much to offer in location and passion. I have a small town called Prossers Bay that I write in – it’s on the East Coast, and I love it, even though it doesn’t sell as well as my other series.

Why do you think readers are fascinated by books written about New Zealand?

Most people have heard of us now, they see the pictures of our land and who could not fall in love with it. The sheer majestic beauty of our mountains, and the lushness of the fields. It doesn’t hurt that film makers want to come here. Heard of Lord of the Rings perhaps? lol

Who is your favourite New Zealand author and why?

Nalini Singh. Not only is she an amazing author, and arguably the most successful one in New Zealand (not that our literary friends would admit it), but she is a truly lovely person and is a huge proponent of other authors and of New Zealand. She is loved and adored in all Romance circles.

Amen to that. I fell in love with her well before I knew she was a kiwi.

What advice would you give for other writers in New Zealand?

Find your tribe. People who get what you do and will have your back. Who won’t pull you down, but won’t tell you something you write is excellent when it’s not.

Do you get to network or meet up with other New Zealand authors?

All the time. I wouldn’t be where I am if I didn’t.

What was the first thing you did after your first book was published?

Had a party, then went back to writing the next one.

Do you read your book reviews? How do you handle the good and the bad ones?

Sometimes. The bad ones make me feel a little ill, but often they’re from people who didn’t read the blurb and were expecting something else. Thinking that way helps. Lol The good ones will give you a lift, but one shouldn’t take anything as gospel, unless everyone’s saying the same thing! Then you should sit up and take notice.

How long does it take you to write a book? Do you have any secrets to productivity?

If it’s a novella, probably a couple of months – tops. A Novel might be four. That doesn’t take in to account edits.

Where did you get the idea for your first or latest book?

The first one was something I had kicked around for a while. Funnily enough it is romantic suspense and I have never written another. Lately I have 3 series I am working on. They’ve come about through promotional opportunities and people I really want to work with.

Do you have any writing rituals?

Clean desk, a calendar, turn off the internet. Edit somewhere else.

What is your best experience meeting a fan?

I don’t tend to meet them, but I have my own team of readers and reviewers, and I love that they are eager for my next work and thankful when they get it. They are so lovely.

If any of your books was to be made into a film, which one would you pick and who would you have play the main characters?

Jack and Gill is a romantic Comedy. I’d say Jennifer Lawrence and Chris Pratt

I'd watch that.

How important do you think marketing is for authors today?

It’s a necessity if you intend to make money, and why wouldn’t you?

Do you have any book you have written that won’t ever see the light of day and why?

Oh yes! They are rubbish – my practice at honing my craft. Nothing more.

Many authors have a word or a phrase they automatically use too often. Do you have one? Many more than one! Despite. Really. So.

What quirk or trope of your genre do you like or dislike?

I like to surprise, sometimes tropes like second chances are hard to find that element.

Often writers get to approach some serious subjects. Which serious subject are you most proud to have written about or was the hardest to write about?

Abuse and infertility, but mainly cancer. I lost both my parents to different cancers and nursed them, then I had had 2 lots of cancer myself. It’s hard but also cathartic.

I'm glad that writing could give you something as you have given a lot of people something with your writing.

Sign up to the newsletter and find out when your favourite Kiwi author has a book out.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page