top of page

Interview with Rodney Strong

In the process of looking for NZ authors I came to realise just how important your presence online is. Rodney with his debut book coming out has been smart to carve out his part of the internet so he is easy to find. Also I have a soft spot for good covers and Rodney's book Troy's Possibilities has one super awesome cover.

Tell us about your latest novel or project:

I’ve just released Troy’s Possibilities, my first novel. The book is about a man who has the ability to live different possible futures for himself, and how that has affected him, and the woman who might be able to help make sense of it all.

What got you started writing?

I’ve always wanted to be a writer, from the time in primary school when I wrote plays for my classmates.

What challenges did you face when you first started writing?

At first it was fitting it into a busy life, around work and family etc. Then when I quit my full-time job it became about the discipline of working to deadlines.

That is certainly brave and I applaud you on chasing your dream. And concrete about it all to set deadlines.

Who in your life is your greatest cheerleader or support in your writing?

My wife.

What is it like writing in New Zealand that would be different if you lived anywhere else?

It’s less of an issue now, but the New Zealand book market is small and the chances of getting published are much harder than overseas, but with social media and places like Amazon it’s become a lot easier to reach a wider market.

Where do you get your ideas? Is there anything about New Zealand that has inspired you to write?

They just come to me, often at the oddest times. The idea for my second book came when I was visiting a cemetery and I was looking at the headstones and got thinking about identity theft, which lead to how would the deceased feel about their identity being taken.

Who is your favourite New Zealand author and why?

I’m a big fan of Mandy Hager, and Maurice Gee.

What advice would you give for other writers in New Zealand?

I don’t think it matters where in the world you are, it’s all about the product. If you write a good story then you’ve got a chance of getting it out there and having people buy it.

I told my writing class that just other day. The first thing is always to tell a good story. The rest you can learn or fix up later.

Do you get to network or meet up with other New Zealand authors?

Not too much yet as I’m new to the whole thing, but hopefully in the future.

What was the first thing you did after your first book was published?

Had a few drinks, then started thinking about promotion

It seems like everything has Easter Eggs (surprise reference to your other work) do you have any Easter Eggs in your books?

I’m early in my career, but I did put a couple of little Easter Eggs in the first book that readers of the second book might pick up on.

Great, something your fans can look out for.

How long does it take you to write a book? Do you have any secrets to productivity?

I usually aim for 1,000 words per day, so depending on the book, it can take between 3-4 months to write a first draft.

Do you have any writing rituals?

Not as such, although I have a cat who likes to sit on my shoulders and watch. It was cute when he was a kitten, less so now he’s 8 years old.

I also always have a cat on my lap while writing. So I understand their influence in the writing process.

How important do you think marketing is for authors today?

As an unknown author, it’s critical. It’s all about reviews, especially when selling it online on places like Amazon.

I have literally put in my books that authors live or die by reviews and I shamelessly beg for reviews. I review books just because I know how important it is. Even though it does take time away from writing.

Do you have any book you have written that won’t ever see the light of day and why?

There’s a children’s book I wrote years ago that I really like, but it was originally written for the wrong age so I need to adapt it to an older audience. I’d like to get it out there one day, but there are a few other projects that need attention first.

Seems like you have things all sorted out for a bright future as an author. Good luck

Sign up to the newsletter and find out when your favourite Kiwi author has a book out.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page