top of page

Interview with Mandy Hager

I've actually met Mandy's brother once. He came to my school to talk to the kids once and he was very fascinating. It seems the awesome gene is very much in this family as Mandy is an award winning author with several novels under her belt.

Tell us about your latest novel or project.

I’m currently working on a sequel to my novel ‘The Nature of Ash’, a political thriller set in New Zealand in the near future.

I saw the cover for Nature of Ash and it is amazing. I'm terrible as I always judge a book by its cover. And all of your books have amazing covers so I take it you feel the same.

What got you started writing?

It’s something I’ve always done since I was a little girl. It’s the way I best can express my thoughts. When I first started serious writing, I needed to learn a lot about the craft of putting a compelling story together. I’ve taken a number of courses, including a MA in Creative Writing.

Do you ever get the opportunity to travel for your writing?

Either to market or to research. I was very fortunate to be awarded the 2014 Katherine Mansfield Menton Fellowship, which meant I could spend 6 months in the south of France researching for the historical novel I was working on, which was based on the life of a woman who lived in France in the 12th century.

Who in your life is your greatest cheerleader or support in your writing?

That has to be my husband, who has supported me throughout (no, my writing doesn’t earn enough to support me!) Closely followed by my daughter, who has often read chapters as I write them and given me her thoughts.

What is it like writing in New Zealand that would be different if you lived anywhere else?

There is an issue with NZ being at the bottom of the world, so it’s very hard to make headway overseas. But there are advantages, too, such as easier access to publishers, without the need for an agent.

Where do you get your ideas?

I often write about issues that worry me, though sometimes an idea will come like a bolt out of the blue and I have to scrabble to get the idea down before it disappears back into wherever it is it came from!

Why do you think readers are fascinated by books written about New Zealand?

I think, for NZers, it’s nice to read about your own culture and recognisable landscapes. For those overseas, it offers a different perspective from the norm.

Who is your favourite New Zealand author and why?

I find this question impossible to answer! We have so many wonderful writers I don’t like to pick one out over others!

That is not the first time I've heard that but I'm picky with genre and that is the only thing that makes me lean towards one author over another. For those who read more widely there are certainly some marvelous authors in New Zealand to pick from.

What advice would you give for other writers in New Zealand?

Read like a writer, to see how others spin the magic. Be stubborn and determined and never give up. Write what you’re passionate about, not what you think will sell. Have something to say. Go do a writing course and keep upskilling throughout your life.

Do you get to network or meet up with other New Zealand authors?

I am a member of the Society of Authors, plus the Wellington Children’s Book Association. I have a wide range of writing friends, who I’ve met over the years and feel very privileged to know. I also try to go to as many writing related conferences and writing festivals as I can.

What was the first thing you did after your first book was published?

I spent the money on a big piece of furniture, made by a friend, so I would always have it as a reminder of that first achievement.

Do you read your book reviews? How do you handle the good and the bad ones? Yes, I find it impossible not to. I celebrate the good ones and post them to my website or author Facebook page. Bad ones I quietly brood over!

How long does it take you to write a book? Do you have any secrets to productivity?

A YA novel generally takes most of a year by the time it’s edited. My novel ‘Heloise’ took three years – one researching and two writing. I’m very organised and write every day like a job, generally from 9 – 4pm then editing at night, roughly 4 days a week.

Where did you get the idea for your first or latest book?

My first book was a picture book about the death of a parent, after my husband died and I couldn’t find anything suitable to help my two young children talk about the grief they were experiencing.

Do you have any writing rituals?

Social media first, then writing. Nothing really other than that.

If any of your books was to be made into a film, which one would you pick and who would you have play the main characters?

I’d love to see all my books as films! I’m pretty out of touch with actors, so wouldn’t like to say!

How important do you think marketing is for authors today?

Essential, though it’s certainly not everyone’s cup of tea (including me!) But it does pay off if a writer is able to speak at events and get the word of their books out there.

Do you have any book you have written that won’t ever see the light of day and why?

Yes, I worked on my second novel for three years before I gave up and threw it away. It just didn’t work the way I wanted it to, and as time passed the topic dated.

Many authors have a word or a phrase they automatically use too often. Do you have one?

I do have a love of swearing and have a lot of eye movement and hand gestures that I need to edit out!

What quirk or trope of your genre do you like or dislike?

I love YA particularly – gritty, gutsy books that have pace and, because they always have a teenage protagonist, it’s always a delight to see a character growing up before your eyes.

What is your best experience meeting a fan?

Because I have written several books that address big issues like suicide and date rape, I have been fortunate to have had wonderful correspondence with young people who have found the books helped them in some way. This is, bottom line, why I write.

Often writers get to approach some serious subjects. Which serious subject are you most proud to have written about or was the hardest to write about?

Probably suicide, closely followed by sexual violence. Both these needed a light hand and a lot of convincing of librarians, particularly, that they were safe and helpful to readers. In my book ‘Dear Vincent’, about suicide, it was very emotionally draining to be in the head of this character for a whole year!

Thank you so much for sharing a little bit of your writing process and telling us about your experiences as a writer.

Sign up to the newsletter and find out when your favourite Kiwi author has a book out.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page