top of page

Interview with Karen McMillan

I'm always amazed with authors who can write in very different genres. Karen has not only tackled fiction but non-fiction as well and topics most shy away from.

Please tell us about your latest books.

My latest book releases in the middle of August, Everyday Strength: Recipes and Wellbeing Tips for Cancer Patients that I have co-authored with the talented chef Sam Mannering. This is the book we both wish we’d had when going through cancer treatments. Our book won’t cure cancer, but it does promise to make everyday a little better with its nutritious recipes and tips to manage some of the common symptoms of the various treatments. My last novel was Brushstrokes of Memory, a contemporary book set in New Zealand about a woman who has suffered a head injury and has lost ten years of her memory. It’s a book about Rebecca rediscovering her life and her lost dreams, all the good and bad, and starting over. I was very excited to see this book on the bestseller list!

Congratulations. Getting to the bestseller's list is definitely something to be proud of.

What got you started writing?

I used to write short stories when I was a child that were published in the children’s section of one of the Sunday newspapers, so since I can remember I have always written. My first book Unbreakable Spirit was inspired by a meeting with Mitch Albom, author of Tuesday’s with Morrie, after interviewing him as a hospice volunteer. I never thought my first published book would be on the subject matter of cancer, but we had a discussion that planted a seed that turned into a book deal with Tandem Press. The book was incredibly well-received, was reprinted, translated into Polish where I went on an author tour, and has since been revised and republished – so it was a lovely publishing experience. I’ve been writing books ever since – a mixture of non-fiction and fiction.

Have you ever travelled for your books?

Yes, I’ve been very fortunate in this regard! I went to Poland on an author tour for Unbreakable Spirit, and I completely fell in love with the people, the place, and their rich but tragic history. This trip was the catalyst for writing The Paris of the East, which is a historical novel set during the Second World War, that takes a Polish perspective and follows the fate of four young Polish people. Rafael is a dashing fighter pilot who ends up flying with the RAF in Britain. Celina, his wife, and his brother Marek, and their friend Anna, all join the Polish resistance in various roles, something that will cost them dearly.

I had no intention of writing a sequel to The Paris of the East, but my lovely readers wrote in droves via my website wanting to know what happened to them after the war. I decided they would immigrate to San Francisco as I wanted to give them a chance at a better life. So I went to San Francisco to research how life would have been post-war, and ended up with a storyline for The Paris of the West that takes readers from the jazz clubs of the Fillmore District to the sun kissed vineyards of Sonoma. It was such a joy to research this book.

Later this year, I will be over to London to promote my new book Everyday Strength, and there are plans to go to Australia next year to do book publicity also. And I’ve had a research trip to Europe for another book, but I can’t tell you about it yet as it’s only in the initial stages!

It can't be jet setting all the time. What are some of the challenges you have faced from when you first started writing.

The same challenges I do now – that while I make money out of my books, it’s not enough to give up my day job (which I love very much – working as a publicist for Lighthouse PR under my married name Karen McKenzie, supporting other authors). So I am very time poor when it comes to my writing. But this means I never have writer’s block, so that’s a big advantage, and there is a lovely symmetry in my working life with helping so many other authors, and being an author myself.

Who in your life is your greatest cheerleader or support in your writing?

My husband, Iain McKenzie, is my greatest supporter. But I have a host of other people who are equally supportive, from my overseas agent to my various publishers and distributors, to the wonderful editors and designers I work with. I’m incredibly lucky to have such a supportive team around me – because while writing a book might be a solitary process, bringing a book to publication is very much a team effort.

What is it like writing in New Zealand that would be different if you lived anywhere else?

I’m not sure it would be any different if I lived somewhere else, in terms of what I write about. I’m drawn to writing books about love, loss and overcoming obstacles, and I don’t think that would change. Some of my books are set in New Zealand; others are very international. I firmly believe the imagination isn’t restricted by where you live. But I do believe living in New Zealand is an advantage in many ways. We are open to ideas from all around the world – and I think about what I read – books by New Zealanders, but also books by the best of US, UK and international authors, which I think all inform a way someone looks at the world.

Where do you get your ideas? Is there anything about New Zealand that has inspired you to write?

I get ideas from all sorts of places. Conversations, news items, magazine articles, dreams – anything really. I have many notes for potential books squirreled away for the future. Brushstrokes of Memory is set in New Zealand, and I’ve had a lot of feedback from local readers saying how much they enjoy the local settings. It was a real pleasure to write this book and include some of our beauty spots – pohutukawa trees and sandy beaches – in this novel.

Do you get to network or meet up with other New Zealand authors?

I’m constantly meeting New Zealand authors as part of my day job. It’s such a pleasure to work with so many talented writers, and it’s lovely to be part of this vibrant community.

You get to work with so many authors are any New Zealand authors your favourite?

I honestly can’t answer this question, as there are so many fabulous New Zealand writers out there, so I can’t single out one as my favourite. They are all favourites in different ways.

What advice would you give for other writers in New Zealand?

Be true to yourself with what you write. Read widely – aim to read at 100 new release books each year – it’s the best way to be in touch with what is happening in the publishing industry. And don’t take it all too seriously. Have fun and enjoy!

What was the first thing you did after your first book was published?

Embarrassed my husband by going down to the local bookshop and taking a photograph of the display. I still do that with every book that comes out. It’s a real thrill seeing the book in print in the bookshops, and I figure if a lovely bookseller has gone to all that effort to display my book, it’s worth a photo! My husband still remains embarrassed by my behaviour!

You were braver than me. I chickened out and couldn't bring myself to take the photo. Though I totally understand the urge to get super excited when seeing your book on a shelf.

Do you read your book reviews? How do you handle the good and the bad ones?

I’ve been very fortunate that nearly all my reviews have been great. But for the odd bad one – I realise it’s just not that reader’s cup of tea. Just like when you go to a movie with a friend, and you love it, but they were less than enthusiastic – at the end of the day, it’s all very subjective. But I guess I am most interested in being true to my vision, my voice, and my values when I write – so in many ways, I am writing the books that I like to read myself. Possibly a bit earnest sometimes, but always with a good heart and intentions.

How long does it take you to write a book? Do you have any secrets to productivity?

I’m fortunate that I can write a book in a very short space of time. For my first book, I was contracted to write it in three months, and that was at the same time as holding down a full-time job! But usually, I like to have a year from beginning to end. And some books have taken longer than a year.

I don’t think there are any real secrets to productivity. It’s just a matter of having a bit of time to get your ideas on paper when you can and keep the project progressing.

Where did you get the idea for your latest book?

The idea for Everyday Strength came from the many conversations with people I have had since writing Unbreakable Spirit. Slowly an idea came to my mind – a book for people when they were in the thick of cancer treatments, with loads of great recipes and tips to help with the typical symptoms. It’s a book that comes from an understanding of what could be actually useful at this time, as opposed to what people who have never had cancer think people should do. And it was fabulous getting Sam Mannering on board for this project, who has created well-considered food, that is incredibly nutritious, but also comforting and tasty for cancer patients who might not be feeling that well.

Do you have any writing rituals?

No, although I love the idea of them! In my romanticized world of being a writer, I’d work for a few hours in the morning and then go for a long walk on the beach. Then I’d have lunch with one of my publishers, and then spend the afternoon researching and corresponding with readers, before my husband and I have a lovely dinner together discussing our day. The reality is that I squeeze in an hour here and there to write around my very busy, but rewarding day job. I do sometimes manage a walk on the beach with my husband. Oh, but we always manage the lovely dinner at the end of the day, so that’s something!

Strangely enough that is what I would see myself doing as well in my dream world of writing. Unfortunately, like you it doesn't happen for me either. But it is nice to know I'm not the only dreaming.

What is your best experience meeting a fan?

I’ve had so many lovely experiences, and it’s always so wonderful meeting people who enjoy my books. One of the nicest experiences was out of the blue, and meeting a person for the first time at the supermarket who my husband had met before via work. Introductions were made, and the person started telling me that Love in Aotearoa (now called Love Bytes in the new edition) was their favourite book of all time! They were so sincere and enthusiastic, and it was so unexpected it made it a special moment.

If any of your books was to be made into a film, which one would you pick and who would you

have play the main characters?

So many readers have said my latest novels would make great movies. It would be lovely to see The Paris of the East, The Paris of the West, and Brushstrokes of Memory on screen. All of the novels have characters that actors could get their teeth into. I couldn’t pick who would play the main characters though – there are just so many talented actors who would do a great job.

How important do you think marketing is for authors today?

It’s hugely important. This is what I do in my day job as a book publicist. Marketing is a crucial component of any book publication. Otherwise, writers are doomed to just sell their books to their family and friends. I know I struggled for a long time myself with doing publicity for books, so as an author I get that this takes people out of their comfort zones. You can go through a time of thinking ‘what will people think if me?’ and ‘I feel like such an idiot,' but I realise now that publicity is just part of being an author, so you need to put on the metaphorical hat and just do it.

Not a surprising answer considering your day job but I feel the same way.

Do you have any book you have written that won’t ever see the light of day and why?

I have a novel that has been sitting around for about ten years. I’m still debating about showing it to anyone to get it published. The novel tackles a sensitive, controversial subject, and while it is fiction, it is incredibly personal in many respects, so I’m still considering the pros and cons of publishing this book. I suspect I will still be debating this in ten years’ time!

Often writers get to approach some serious subjects. Which serious subject are you most proud to have written about or was the hardest to write about?

I’ve tackled some very serious subjects throughout my writing career. In Feast or Famine, I’ve explored eating disorders. It was a hard book to write as I had to honestly look at my own experience of having anorexia when I was a teenager – and then writing a book that was honest, real and helpful, when it’s such a complicated problem, and there is no easy fix to recovery.

In Dying: A New Zealand Guide to the Journey, I adapted a South African book for the local market for Calico Publishing. I’m pleased to say it’s still an invaluable guide for people who are terminally ill, and their friends and family.

In The Paris of the East I’ve written about some terrible real life atrocities during the Warsaw occupation and uprising, and with Polish patriots imprisoned in the Ravensbruck Concentration Camp, and the follow-up, The Paris of the West examines post-traumatic stress, and how people might rebuild their lives after tragedy. But I must point out, that while I shine a light on some dark times in history, readers have responded to the light and hope that permeates my books, and the bravery of my central characters.

I’ve also written about cancer. Unbreakable Spirit has 30 peoples’ real-life accounts of having The Big C, stories that have given other people in a similar situation a great deal of hope, inspiration, and insight. It includes the story of both my parents, who battled and died in their prime, and my own battle with cancer in 2011.

Sam Mannering and myself, are excited that Everyday Strength: Recipes and Wellbeing Tips for Cancer Patients is coming out soon. It was a difficult book to write, in some ways, as it involved consulting with so many medical experts when I am a lay person, and getting sign off on what is in the book – but it has also been very rewarding. This is potentially the book that will help the most people, out of all of my twelve books, so that feels very special.

I applaud you for tackling such difficult issues. With someone in my own family with cancer I know there is a big difference in the advice you get from people in the know and others. I'll certainly be buying your latest book. [if !supportLineBreakNewLine] [endif]

Sign up to the newsletter and find out when your favourite Kiwi author has a book out.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page