top of page

Interview with Patricia Pike

Patricia Pike is an author and an artist. She grew up in South Africa but now calls New Zealand her home for the last twenty years or so. She has been writing for years a blog but in the last few years she has published adult colouring in books and a children's book. She has a YA book in the works and will be published later this year.

So tell us about your latest work.

I decided to paint watercolour pictures of the surrounding countryside and make it into a coffee table book. I am also in the process of having my Steam Punk novel edited and cleaned up ready for publishing. The novel is set in Zululand in an alternate reality where some people can morph into animals and manipulate matter. Its a basic love story with a bit of conflict.

South Africa has many issues. Has there been any time you have been able to write about some of the issues in Zululand and South Africa?

My unpublished works are about AIDs and Polygamy as well as the homeless orphans of Zululand.

You now live in New Zealand what is it like writing in New Zealand that would be different if you still lived in South Africa?

New Zealand gives me a peaceful place to be able to give rein to my imagination and write whatever I want.

So what got you started writing in the first place?

A school friend told me that I had a story inside me and there was nothing stopping me except sitting down and believing in myself. My daughter then took over by encouraging me to give it a go.

Besides your daughter who else are your cheerleaders in your life?

My children and friends.

Do you meet up with other New Zealand authors?

Yes, I belong to a group of local authors and we regularly invite well known authors to speak to our group.

Do you have a favourite New Zealand author?

Nix Whittaker. Love her characters and the way that she weaves her steam punk around the people and the stories.

Haha very funny. For those who don't know Patricia is my mom and it doesn't count when you have to like my stories. I also helped to publish your first book. So what did you do when it was first published?

Posted a picture on Facebook.

How long did it take you to write a book?

Months. Some ideas stew away in my sub conscious mind for years.

Were there any challenges you faced?

Self belief. I had a belief that authors were intellectual beings and I did not feel that I fitted the criteria.

But you got past that and you now have three books published. Where did you get your idea for your first book?

Memories of my childhood and the desire to pass on stories to my descendants. A form of future proofing.

Even though you came from half way across the world to New Zealand have you had any opportunity to travel for your writing?

Not yet. But I tap into the memories of loved ones to help me flesh out my stories.

So how has New Zealand influenced your writing?

The local Maori myths and legends have found their way into my books.

Why do you think readers are fascinated by books written about New Zealand?

It offers them an insight into a culture that is different and interesting.

What advice would you give for other writers in New Zealand?

You have a story that others would love to hear. Be not afraid of others opinions. Just do it.

Is that your secret to just do it or do you have any rituals for when you write?

I put on some music. Sometimes rock and roll at other times country music, depending on my mood. I love singing along to the lyrics which allows my mind to process sentences and thoughts.

How important do you think marketing is for authors today? Marketing sells books and there is no getting around it. Whether its amongst friends and family and word of mouth or in the media or at your local library, people need to get to know you so that they can connect with your writing.

Do you have any book you have written that won’t ever see the light of day and why?

I have two books that I have written, but that just haven't gelled. There is basically nothing wrong with them except that the characters need a whole lot more work to make them believable.

Many authors have a word or a phrase they automatically use too often. Do you have one?

Sadly yes, I say things like 'No desire' or 'Happy' maybe I need a thesarus?

What quirk or trope of your genre do you like or dislike?

Too wordy and perhaps too much technical details make me lose interest and zone out.

If any of your books was to be made into a film, which one would you pick and who would you have play the main characters?

'Air whisperers of Nkandla.' with Thandi Newton as Phoebe.

What is your best experience meeting a fan?

met a lady who I chatted to for a moment and she walked off and said to a total stranger 'I have just met Patricia Pike.' as if it was the highlight of her week.

Thank you so much for sharing some of your experiences with us. I know I speak for everyone that you should keep writing and we all look forward to reading some more of your work,

Sign up to the newsletter and find out when your favourite Kiwi author has a book out.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page