top of page

Interview with Daniel Stride

I first came across Daniel at Specficnz. The title of his book Wise Phuul had me chuckling from the start. When I found out just how many educational achievements he has under his belt the pun didn't surprise me.

So Daniel tell us about Wise Phuul.

Wise Phuul, came out in November 2016, and is steampunk-flavoured dark fantasy. It features a protagonist who raises the dead for a living (literally - he's a Necromancer), and follows his adventures across a continent wracked by war and revolution. Oh, and the book features lots of New Zealand native flora and fauna.

What was the first thing you did when it was published?

Cracked open a bottle of cheap champagne. It was released at midnight in the UK, which meant it was 1 pm New Zealand time.

When I first learned that my book had been accepted by the publisher, I responded by going and doing the dishes. Good way to stay grounded.

How long does it take you to write Wise Phuul?

I started writing Wise Phuul in 2007, but most of it was written in 2011-2012, during a particularly horrific time in my life. It was in a coherent form as of 2013. So several years?

I don't recommend having a horrific life episode to boost productivity, but I have noticed I write better after midnight than during the day.

Where did you get the idea for your Wise Phuul?

Wise Phuul was inspired by a 1935 short story called Empire of the Necromancers by Clark Ashton Smith. It gave me an idea for a setting where Necromancers rule the world.

Do you have a current project?

Current project is a long Sword & Sorcery short story (or short novella) entitled It Shines Brightly Tonight. Features a trio of colour-blind underground-living elvish-creatures (no, they're not drow), and their struggle to save their homeland from what I affectionately think of as Lovecraftian elephant seals.

Sounds amazing.

What got you started writing?

Before Wise Phuul, my background was largely poetry, especially medieval-style stuff. That and fanfiction, which I have written a fair amount of (no links, unfortunately). I am comparatively new to writing original prose fiction.

I know the feeling. I'm also a baby author without much under my belt. Are there any challenges you have face in writing?

I'm a compulsive world-builder, which I think is a trap for geeky authors. World-building does not equal writing. You have to actually get a story on the page.

Ah, I understand, but also needful as a good world makes for a good book.

But surely you have had those in your life who have encouraged you to write.

A good friend of mine called Nicky Thomas.

Do you get to network or meet up with other New Zealand authors?

I live in Dunedin. Vanishingly few options down here, unfortunately.

I have the same problem but Taumarunui is certainly smaller than Dunedin. What is it like writing in New Zealand that would be different if you lived anywhere else?

If you write fantasy in New Zealand, and are looking for a literary agent, you have to go overseas. E-mail makes life so much easier, of course.

It's also worth noting that only one of the Big Five English language publishers has a branch office in New Zealand anymore. The level of neglect is criminal.

Certainly agree which only makes your accomplishment even more amazing.

Who is your favourite New Zealand author and why?

My favoured genre (fantasy) doesn't lend itself to reading lots of New Zealand authors, but I would opt for Octavia Cade.

Maybe that will change one day with the ease of publishing these days we might get to hear the voices of more authors.

Why do you think readers are fascinated by books written about New Zealand?

They are?

To be honest, I think a major issue with New Zealand is that we have never quite figured out what we are as a country.

That could also be one of our strengths because there is no set identity.

Where do you get your ideas? Is there anything about New Zealand that has inspired you to write?

Ideas just happen - and everyone gets them. The key is actually getting those ideas down on the page.

I love New Zealand native flora and fauna (they are so unique), and make a point of using them in preference to bog-standard European wildlife.

What advice would you give for other writers in New Zealand?

Same advice I'd give for writers anywhere else - read lots and write lots. It's actually sitting down and writing that makes you a writer, not sitting in a cafe waiting for magical inspiration to strike.

(In fact, from experience, most of my ideas tend to come while I'm actually writing).

Always good advice. Now for some dreaming if Wise Phuul was to be made into a film, who would you have play the main characters?

Absolutely no idea on who would play Teltö.

What is your best experience meeting a fan?

Never met one! It's an experience I would love though.

Pity New Zealand isn't known for its gushing fans of anything really. Hopefully you will get your wish one day.

Do you read your book reviews? How do you handle the good and the bad ones?

I like book reviews, and wish I had more (seriously, Wise Phuul only has a handful on Amazon and Goodreads). All of them have been broadly positive so far, so I'd actually quite like a bad one.

I know, part of this project is hopefully New Zealanders will help out and review New Zealand books. So people please review books. Authors live or die on them.

Do you ever get the opportunity to travel for your writing? Either to market or to research.

No. Wish I did though.

It seems like everything has Easter Eggs (surprise reference to your other work) do you have any Easter Eggs in your books?

No, I tend to avoid that sort of thing - each story exists on its own terms.

Do you have any writing rituals?

Not particularly, though cups of tea help.

I think a cup a tea helps with a lot of things not just writing.

How important do you think marketing is for authors today?

Define marketing.

I think it's important to have a meaningful internet presence, but you have to be very careful lest people think you're spamming.

Do you have any book you have written that won’t ever see the light of day and why?

I've got an unfinished 20,000 word alternate history sitting around that won't see the light of day because the subject matter is so obscure.

Many authors have a word or a phrase they automatically use too often. Do you have one?

Atop. Shrugged. "Shook his/her head".

What quirk or trope of your genre do you like or dislike?

Medieval European Fantasy has been done to death.

Often writers get to approach some serious subjects. Which serious subject are you most proud to have written about or was the hardest to write about?

I'm quite proud of The Happiest Man Alive, a short story set during a post-apocalyptic nuclear winter in 1960s Britain. I had a lot of fun portraying the insanity of the narrator as he tries to rationalise life in that situation.

(The story itself will feature in the October 2017 edition of Bards and Sages Quarterly, if you want to read it).

I'll certainly be looking out for it. Thank you for your time and I hope all your projects are as witty and successful as Wise Phuul.

Sign up to the newsletter and find out when your favourite Kiwi author has a book out.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page