top of page

Interview with Adrienne Body

I'm actually quiet familiar with Adrienne as I've worked with her before over at The Itchy Kraken. So I was very pleased when she decided to be part of this.

What got you started writing?

I love painting and I love writing. Writing a children’s book is just something I always wanted to do. I started my first book “A Sheep Named Breakfast” just to tick it off the bucket list, as it were. A few years later I discovered print-on-demand and there was no holding me back.

I love POD for publishing. Especially in the past, an artist would have to fork out thousands of dollars for a run.

What challenges did you face when you first started writing?

Confidence, time, and expense. It can be a big and scary investment; particularly if you decide to self-publish. Print-on-demand wasn’t a thing when I put out my first book, so deciding to front up the cash to print a batch after being (very politely and positively) rejected by a couple of publishers was nerve-racking. Although one publisher was very encouraging about my illustrations, so that helped a little with the self-confidence.

Who in your life is your greatest cheerleader or support in your writing?

My family and my friends are pretty supportive. It can be really difficult (especially for creative people) to believe in yourself and in the quality of your work. When you have people who will genuinely remind you that you’re not as rubbish at it as you feel you are, it is invaluable. My best friend does this for me, and I for her.

Where do you get your ideas?

Ideas can get sparked by almost anything. Random comments, phrases, or puns; by lunchroom conversations, or people making a joke about something. I also listen out for children’s questions. Kids' brains are great.

Why do you think readers are fascinated by books written about New Zealand?

Our down to earth attitudes and uniquely kiwi humour seems to be quite appealing to many readers. From the quirky to the deeply spiritual, NZ books are something a bit fascinating for international readers. NZ is exotic & mysterious but still relatable. Kiwis love to read about NZ to learn more about their history, and enjoy a sense of connectedness or nostalgia.

I remember being in Dubai and seeing a Shaun the sheep.

What advice would you give for other writers in New Zealand?

Be true to yourself and your inspiration. Don’t get too caught up in what people from overseas might like or dislike. Our differences in language, humour, history, setting, or culture can be a big part of what is interesting and enticing to readers from other countries.

What was the first thing you did after your first book was published?

I don’t even remember. Probably had a Milo.

Do you read your book reviews? How do you handle the good and the bad ones?

I do. I always appreciate the good ones, obviously. The not so good ones… you have to try not to take them to heart too much, which is often easier said than done. You just have to try to remember that not all readers have the same tastes. Something that one person finds a bit annoying won’t worry another person. Something one person doesn’t get or doesn’t like, someone else will think is wonderful. Take feedback on board if it’s constructive, but don’t let it get you down. There will always be trolls as well; but you can usually pick them and the only thing to do is ignore them (even though it can be hard). Most of the people reading comments/reviews can pick trolls too, and they take no notice of them.

It seems like everything has Easter Eggs (surprise reference to your other work) do you have any Easter Eggs in your books?

I haven’t done it yet, but I kinda like the idea. And speaking as a reader, they can be fun if done right (not just randomly inserted for the sake of it). If I did, I think it would be within the illustrations somehow.

My mother does frogs but it might be because she likes frogs. It can certainly be a lot of fun when it comes to illustrations as it because a 'Where's Wally' moment that is always enjoyable.

How long does it take you to write a book?

That varies quite a lot depending on many things; everything from prior commitments to just how enthused I am about it. Deadlines help. I usually manage to produce one or two books a year, as I don’t work on them all the time. Once I have a concept formed, the story/text usually takes a few days worth, if you add it together. Illustrations can take anywhere from a couple of weeks to a couple of months. Then comes the digital side of things - assembling, formatting and editing can take quite a bit of time. Children’s books are definitely not something you can just knock together in an afternoon.

Do you have any secrets to productivity?

No, I’m pretty easily distracted. But giving yourself permission to make time (and space) to work on your project is important if you are not writing full time. Day jobs can be a pain, but if you’re determined, you can work around them.

Do you have any writing rituals?

I make myself a little nest (preferably in the sun) of whatever tools I need for the current task, some form of caffeine, and some music.

I could do with some sun at the moment.

If any of your books was to be made into a film, which one would you pick and who would you have play the main characters?

I don’t think any of my books are long enough to be a film… although they did Where the Wild Things Are, so who knows lol. I think I would choose Phil the Kraken, just because I am pretty fond of Phil. He is a very cute and very cheeky sea-monster who gets up to a lot of silly things, so it would make a very fun film.

I always thought it would be great to have Morgan Freeman do a reading or audio-book; or Samuel L Jackson would be pretty funny; or Dylan Moran. I think I have put way too much thought into this.

How important do you think marketing is for authors today?

It is important. There are just so many books out there that the chance of readers stumbling across your book and then choosing to buy or borrow it, is very small. So, as hard and as weird as it might feel to ‘toot your own horn,’ you just have to. There’s nothing arrogant about telling people your work exists. They might not find it otherwise. You can always get a friend or a professional to write the third person and promotional stuff if you find it difficult to talk about yourself.

What is your best experience meeting a fan?

It was pretty cool to hear someone yelling “Yay! ‘S is for Science!’ I’ve got that book!” across the aisle at a pop culture convention where I was an exhibitor.

Thank you so much for taking the time to answer some questions and sharing your story with us.

Sign up to the newsletter and find out when your favourite Kiwi author has a book out.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page