top of page

A few of my Favourite things

Updated: Apr 10, 2020

I've been thinking at this time that it is important to remember things that are going to make us happy. A bit like the song from the sound of music.

So I'm going to challenge you to go through your phone and take some pictures from there and make a short video of a few of your favourite things. If you can use just what you already have but if there aren't enough or you want to improve the image then you can take some more images.


Here is an example of what I want you to do.



I could have done better if I had better images (I'm not a great photographer) or I had manipulated them with filters. I could have done a voice over or added sound effects. Another way I could have improved was if it rhymed. But this was just an example of what I wanted to be done.


Step 1:

Gather your pictures and group them together - this will help with the structure of your video. It should develop an idea as it goes along so your audience feels something and understands something by the end.


Step 2:

Write a script - figure out what words go best with each image. You don't want too many words with each image so more images are better than less.


Step 3:

Pick a font. I want something different from what is usually built into PowerPoint. Go to google and look up some free fonts and pick one that speaks to you. It should be easy to read and scale up nicely.


Step 4:

Put it onto a PowerPoint or any other software you have. Make sure you have automatic transitions and check to make sure they aren't too fast or too slow. Don't clutter the slides - let the images shine.


Step 5:

Add music. You can't just put on any music because of copyright reasons. I recommend googling royalty-free music and the tone or mood you are looking for. Insert that onto the PowerPoint.


Step 6:

Export it as a video - this is because the fonts might not stay in place and things like that. Besides, it is more professional.


 

This is only for students of Taumarunui High School.


Step 7:

Hand it in using the forms below. Due 15th May 2020. If the file is too big for your wi-fi then try putting it into your onedrive (and sync it) and sending a link to my email. - and last ditch effort is to put it onto a flash drive and bring it to school when we are finally back. I will be running this again in term 3.





bottom of page