top of page

Writing Into The Dark

Updated: Mar 13, 2020

So, many people were blown away recently by the fact that not everyone has internal dialogue running through their heads. well at least on my feeds that are dominated by writing and reading themed posts. But this is not a new discovery. Psychology Today has an article on it all.


I don't have an internal dialogue and someone postured that maybe planners don't have that voice in their head but pantsers do. I tend towards a little bit of planning and a lot on the fly. So that theory doesn't work. But I do make sure the dialogue goes through my head first before I write. I had to teach it to myself though. I write more like this guy does - he has dozens of books under his name so he really does know what he is talking about.



It is actually quite fascinating how people think. In truth it is more of a spectrum. Try finding out from your classmates just how many can hear words in their heads or how many it is just abstract thoughts. You can even place it on an Excel spreed sheet to find out just how many people are the same and different in your community.


What conclusions can you draw from this data? Is there a flaw in your data collecting? Is there things you can do reduce the errors in the data collection?


I recommend starting off with some standard questions. Make sure they aren't stacked towards one view or other. Here is a guide on what kind of questions are best used.


I hope by the end of this you'll understand that planning something and thinking about something is actually different for each person. You can't judge someone on your own thought patterns. Just how you wouldn't want them to jump to conclusions based on their own.


Now that you have a little more idea of your own thought process try figure out what you need to do things like plan projects or write a book.



bottom of page